MotoGP Going To Finland, Provisional Slate Set

MotoGP Going To Finland
Marc Marquez (93) battles Andrea Dovizioso during Sunday's MotoGP opener in Qatar. (Honda Photo)

MADRID, Spain – The provisional calendar for the 2020 MotoGP World Championship season was revealed to the public on Wednesday, featuring 20 races between March and November.

A notable addition to next year’s schedule, subject to an FIM homologation, will be the Finnish Grand Prix on July 12 at the KymiRing.

The PTT Grand Prix of Thailand will move from the 15th round of the championship to be the second race of the year next season, rolling off on March 22.

All 19 of the races from this year’s MotoGP schedule return on next year’s provisional calendar.

Preseason tests will be held Nov. 19 in Valencia, Spain; Nov. 26 in Jerez, Spain; Feb. 7 in Sepang, Malaysia and Feb. 22 in Lusail, Qatar.

Marc Marquez is the current MotoGP point leader with seven races remaining, holding a 78-point margin over Andrea Dovizioso.

Provisional 2020 MotoGP Calendar

Date – Event – Track

March 8 – Qatar Grand Prix – Losail Int’l Circuit

March 22 – Thailand Grand Prix – Chang Int’l Circuit

April 5 – Grand Prix of the Americas – Circuit of the Americas

April 19 – Argentinian Grand Prix – Termas de Rio Hondo

May 3 – Spanish Grand Prix – Jerez Circuit Angel Nieto

May 17 – French Grand Prix – Le Mans Bugatti Circuit

May 31 – Italian Grand Prix – Autodromo del Mugello

June 7 – Catalan Grand Prix – Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

June 21 – German Grand Prix – Sachsenring

June 28 – Dutch Grand Prix – TT Circuit Assen

July 12 – Finnish Grand Prix – KymiRing

Aug. 9 – Czech Grand Prix – Automotodrom Brno

Aug. 16 – Austrian Grand Prix – Red Bull Ring

Aug. 30 – British Grand Prix – Silverstone Circuit

Sept. 13 – San Marino Grand Prix – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli

Oct. 4 – Aragon Grand Prix – MotorLand Aragon

Oct. 18 – Japanese Grand Prix – Twin Ring Motegi

Oct. 25 – Australian Grand Prix – Philip Island

Nov. 1 – Malaysian Grand Prix – Sepang Int’l Circuit

Nov. 15 – Valencia Grand Prix – Circuit de Valencia-Ricardo Tormo