XR Showdown Returns To AMA Fold

AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series riders at Road America.
AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series riders at Road America.

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. — Adding a strategic element to that mix along with a $60,000 boost to the prize money up for grabs, the XR Showdown returns to the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series for the 2013 GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing season.

First introduced in 2012, the XR Showdown is a special year-end points fund award to be battled for by the top ten competitors in the final four races of the season, beginning with the Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series doubleheader at the Red Bull Indianapolis GP.

Riders compete for the XR Showdown by being in the top 10 in the standings at the conclusion of the fifth race at Miller Motorsports Park. After the Miller round, each of the riders in the top ten will have their championship points reset to 1,000 points, putting the them back on a level playing field.

The rider with the most points at the end of the season takes home the championship and $25,000 in Showdown prize money, with the remaining $35,000 paid out to second through tenth in the final standings.

The XR Showdown is a separate and supplemental $60,000 prize money fund in addition to the $10,000 purse awarded at each of the nine races in the 2013 Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series.

All riders are eligible to compete in all nine races and thereby are also competing for the $10,000 purse awarded for each race.

“The Harley-Davidson class offers the best opportunity for a rider to demonstrate their ability by making talent and race craft the only variables,” said Vance & Hines President Paul Langley. “And the prize money support from Harley-Davidson and Vance & Hines ensures more young riders and privateers can have a chance to show what they can do at the AMA Pro level.”



Previous articleBirchalls Rule Isle Of Man Sidecars
Next articleNHRA Fines Crew Member $7,500
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.