Josh Herrin Runs Away In Utah

Josh Herrin drove to victory in Saturday's AMA Pro National Guard Superbike race at Miller Motorsports Park in Utah. (Jeremy Henrie Photo)
Josh Herrin drove to victory in Saturday’s AMA Pro National Guard Superbike race at Miller Motorsports Park in Utah. (Jeremy Henrie Photo)

TOOELE VALLEY, Utah — Josh Herrin, Cameron Beaubier and rookie phenom Joe Roberts were first to the checkered flag in their respective classes as the first of two days of racing for GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing took place at Miller Motorsports Park.

The AMA Pro Road Racing event, round six of the nine-round 2013 championship, features four different classes of motorcycles in a double-header format. The AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike, AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike and AMA Pro SuperSport classes are scheduled for races on both Saturday and Sunday, while the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series will race only on Sunday.

In the first race for the headlining National Guard SuperBike class, second-year rider Josh Herrin pulled off the upset of the season to date. It was his third victory of the season, but the first in which Herrin battled his teammate, three-time and defending series champ Josh Hayes, heads-up for an entire race. Herrin, riding the No. 2 Monster Energy/Graves Yamaha YZF-R1, took the win by a razor-thin 0.093 second over Roger Hayden (No. 54 National Guard/Jordan Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000).

Hayes had an uncharacteristic day, taking the final podium position after a very hard-fought race. Martin Cardenas (No. 36 Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R1000) and Danny Eslick (No. 23 Jordan Motorsports Suzuki GSX-R1000) completed the top five. Local wild-card entrant Oleg Pianykh (Wicked Audio Suzuki GSX-R1000) of Salt Lake City finished 17th in the field of 23 bikes.

Championship leader Cameron Beaubier, riding the No. 6 Yamaha Extended Service/Monster Energy Yamaha YZF-R6, edged teammate Garrett Gerloff to win his eighth race in nine outings this season in the GoPro Daytona SportBike class. The two Yamaha teammates traded the lead back and forth throughout the race, but Beaubier was able to eke out a 0.174-second margin of victory at the checkered flag. JD Beach (No. 95 RoadRace Factory Yamaha YZF-R6) claimed the final spot on the podium, with Jake Lewis (No. 85 Meen Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R6) and Jake Gagne (No. 32 RoadRace Factory Yamaha YZF-R6) completing the top five.

In the SuperSport class, 16-year-old rookie phenomenon Joe Roberts, who captured the pole position with a track-record lap this morning after being fourth in yesterday’s provisional qualifying, claimed his fourth victory in as many starts by leading every lap in the 13-lap race.

Roberts, riding the No. 2 Superbike School Honda CBR600RR, took the checkered flag 0.795 second ahead of Wyatt Farris (No. 9 Meen Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R6), with provisional polesitter Tomas Puerta (No. 12 RoadRace Factory Yamaha YZF-R6) taking the final podium spot. Sebastiao Ferreira (No. 73 BP Racing/Red Zone Racing Yamaha YZF-R6) and Stefano Mesa (No. 37 Yamaha YZF-R6) filled out the top five.

In provisional qualifying for the Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson series, championship leader Steve Rapp posted the top time in provisional qualifying with a track-record lap of 2:07.027 on his No. 5 Aerostar Global Harley-Davidson XR1200, breaking the existing record of 2:07.343 set by 2012 champ Michael Barnes in 2011. Tyler O’Hara (No. 29 Harley-Davidson XR1200) was second-fastest at 2:07.223, while Eric Stump, Hayden Schultz and Shane Narbonne rounded out the top five.