Indian Motorcycle Supports Arizona Mile

Bryan Smith
Bryan Smith (1) races ahead of teammate Brad Baker during heat race competition on at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Adam Fenwick Photo)

PHOENIX, Ariz. – The promoters of the Law Tigers Arizona Mile have announced that Indian Motorcycle will be the presenting sponsor of the event on May 13.

Round four of the 18-round season of American Flat Track, the Law Tigers Arizona Mile presented by Indian Motorcycle will be held on the one-mile oval at Turf Paradise on May 13.

After a successful first year in 2016, the promoter at the state-of-the-art facility is looking forward to continued success.

“Indian is not only one of the oldest names in motorcycles, it is also enjoying significant success on the racetrack in American Flat Track since it’s return to the sport,” noted race co-promoter Chris Morgan. “By winning the first two races of the 2017 American Flat Track schedule, Indian has already brought a heightened level of competitiveness to the series. Going wheel-to-wheel against other manufacturers who have shown that they know how to win will bring a new level of excitement to Phoenix.”

Indian Motorcycle is happy to return to a sport with so much legacy and to help support its growth.

“Since its dominance in flat track dating back to the early 1900s, racing has been a core part of Indian’s DNA,” said Reid Wilson, Marketing Director for Indian Motorcycle. “It’s an exciting return to the sport we all know and love, and we’re proud to be sponsoring these premier events.”

Indian Motorcycle, which is reviving a racing rivalry with Harley-Davidson that dates back to the turn of the century, is campaigning an all-new flat track bike – the Indian Scout FTR750.

The Minnesota-based brand will come to Phoenix with its three rider “Indian Wrecking Crew,” led by defending Phoenix race winner Bryan Smith, whose victory in last year’s Law Tigers Arizona Mile was his first step in the path leading him to the honor of carrying the No. 1 plate as flat track racing’s Grand National Champion.

Joining him on the wrecking crew are Jared Mees, a three-time Grand National Champion, and Brad Baker, also a former Grand National Champion.