Villopoto Leads Dungey To High Point

The Lucas Oil Motocross Championship heads to Mt. Morris, Pa., this weekend.
The Lucas Oil Motocross Championship heads to Mt. Morris, Pa., this weekend.

MT. MORRIS, Pa. — At the Built Ford Tough Tennessee National, Round 3 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, defending 450 Class champion Ryan Dungey secured his first overall win of the season, ending Ryan Villopoto’s previous five-moto winning streak.

Now only 10 points separate them as the series heads to Mt. Morris, Pa. this Saturday, June 8, for the GEICO High Point National. In the 250 class, round four could potentially see a fourth different overall winner in as many rounds.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Villopoto, the 2011 450 class champion, made his return to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross last month after missing the 2012 season due to a knee injury. Villopoto’s return has been nearly flawless, sweeping five of the first six motos. Although Villopoto has arguably been the fastest rider on the track this season, Dungey, Justin Barcia, Trey Canard, James Stewart and the rest of the field have their sights set on the point leader.

Red Bull KTM’s Dungey secured his first overall win last round in Tennessee, finishing the day out strong with a Moto 2 win. Coupled with the 2012 High Point National victory, and Dungey holds much momentum heading into this Saturday’s race.

However, the defending champion has had his hands full with 450 class rookie Justin Barcia so far this season. Now a full-time contender in the premier class, the Team Honda Muscle Milk rider has proven capable of running the pace of the fastest motocross racers in the country, and sits third overall in the standings.

Close behind Barcia in the points is Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart in fourth position. The Yoshimura Suzuki rider has maintained a consistent string of finishes, but the 2008 champion has yet to win a moto this season. Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard experienced bad luck last round where he went 29-3 for ninth place overall. Canard holds fifth overall.

The highly competitive 250 class has seen three different overall winners this season but it’s Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen who tops the standings heading into round four. Roczen holds four of the six moto wins, while GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac has claimed the other two, and each rider possesses an overall win. While Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin hasn’t claimed a moto win this season, the French rider was able to secure the overall win last round with a consistent 2-2 moto scores.

Defending 250 class champion Blake Baggett finished with a pair of thirds last round, putting him within striking distance of the third place points position of Musquin. Baggett continues to recover from a preseason wrist injury that has kept him just outside of the lead contention thus far. GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne rounds out the top five in the overall standings after consistent top five finishes through three rounds.