Tomac Rules Tampa Supercross Round

Eli Tomac takes the checkered flag at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. (Feld photo)
Eli Tomac takes the checkered flag at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa. (Feld photo)

TAMPA, Fla. — Round seven brought forward a new points leader in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship series.

Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Eli Tomac grabbed his 30th career win on track conditions that challenged athletes and forced mistakes in front of 46,173 fans inside Raymond James Stadium.

Smarttop/BullFrog Spas/Motoconcepts Honda’s Vince Friese crossed the holeshot line first but before the second corner Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo sailed past.

Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen, the points leader going into this round, was buried in the pack; last weekend’s winner, Cooper Webb of the Red Bull KTM team ran just outside the top five at the holeshot line.

The racers on the move early trying to chase down Cianciarulo were Tomac, Smarttop/BullFrog Spas/Motoconcepts Honda’s Malcolm Stewart, Webb and Roczen who’d made his way to fifth after five minutes of racing.

The track was slick in areas with a challenging sand section, and Tomac used the split lanes in the sand to rail an outside berm and take the lead away from Cianciarulo on lp 11.

With just over eight minutes and one lap of racing left Webb jumped past Stewart into third. Roczen passed Stewart next, but a tip over allowed Stewart by at about the same time Cianciarulo crashed in the whoops, dropping from second to 10nth.

Roczen made it back around Stewart and the top three riders in points held onto the podium positions.

Also establishing a new points leader by virtue of it being the starting round of the Eastern Regional 250SX Class series, Monster Energy/Star Yamaha Racing’s Shane McElrath took an impressive win, leading the pack nearly from the start.

With 11 points now separating Tomac, Webb and Roczen in the 450SX  lass, the series heads to Arlington, Texas next weekend, February 22, where AT&T Stadium will host the second Triple Crown event of the year in which riders compete in three 10-Lap Main Events.