Return To Florida Highlights 2019 Pro Motocross Slate

Pro Motocross
Eli Tomac will look to defend his back-to-back titles during the 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series season. (Rob Hargraves photo)

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. – MX Sports Pro Racing and NBC Sports have announced the 12-round schedule for the 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing.

The 48th season of the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series is highlighted by the addition of a new venue, WW Ranch Motocross Park in Jacksonville, Fla., which will host the inaugural Florida National on June 22.

A total of 24 motos will provide plenty of drama and excitement in the 450 Class and 250 Class, where the world’s most prominent and up-and-coming stars will push their physical and mental limits in an all-out battle to win the most coveted title in motocross.

The action will kick off, as it has for 12 of the past 15 seasons, with the Hangtown Motocross Classic on May 18. The series’ championship journey will visit 11 different states.

After emerging on the global motocross scene as the host venue of the final round of the 2017 FIM MXGP season, WW Ranch Motocross Park will bring the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship back to the state of Florida for the first time since the 1997 season.

The Florida National will serve as the fifth round of the season.

“The southeast has long been a hotbed for the sport of motocross, with a significant number of competitors calling the Sunshine State home, and we are committed to ensuring the region has a presence in the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “WW Ranch was a terrific venue for the USGP last year and received rave reviews from both the U.S. and European riders. It’s always been our hope to eventually make a return to Florida, and this track will surely become an immediate favorite among racers and fans alike.”

Reigning back-to-back 450 Class Champion Eli Tomac will look to join elite company in his quest to win the Edison Dye Cup for the third straight season, while newly crowned 250 Class Champion Aaron Plessinger will make his premier class debut, where he’ll join the likes of Marvin Musquin, Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia in hopes of unseating Tomac.

Plessinger’s departure from the 250 Class means that the Gary Jones Cup will be up for grabs, opening the door for the sport’s next star of the future to emerge.


2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

Date – Event – Location

May 18 – Hangtown Motocross Classic – Rancho Cordova, Calif.

May 25 – Glen Helen National – San Bernardino, Calif.

June 1 – Thunder Valley National – Lakewood, Colo.

June 15 – High Point National – Mt. Morris, Pa.

June 22 – Florida National, Jacksonville, Fla.

June 29 – Southwick National – Southwick, Mass.

July 6 – RedBud National – Buchanan, Mich.

July 20 – Spring Creek National – Millville, Minn.

July 27 – Washougal National – Washougal, Wash.

Aug. 10 – Unadilla National – New Berlin, N.Y.

Aug. 17 – Budds Creek National – Mechanicsville, Md.

Aug. 24 – Ironman National – Crawfordsville, Ind.