Pro Motocross Season To Start June 13

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season will begin a little later than planned due to the COVID-19 outbreak. (Jeff Kardas Photo)
The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season will begin a little later than planned due to the COVID-19 outbreak. (Jeff Kardas Photo)

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – In response to the evolving health crisis surrounding the COVID-19 coronavirus, MX Sports Pro Racing has announced an amended event schedule for the season of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.

Under this revised championship calendar, the 49th season of the off-road motorcycle racing series will commence on June 13, beginning with the Florida National from Jacksonville’s WW Ranch Motocross Park.

“While the whole world is trying to cope with the ongoing global pandemic that is the COVID-19 coronavirus, we have diligently looked at the impending future of our own championship and the impact this will inevitably have on this annual summer tradition,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “While the series has unfortunately already been affected by this pandemic with the cancellation of American motocross’ longest running event, the Hangtown Motocross Classic, we have developed a condensed and redesigned schedule for the remainder of the championship that will now start a little less than three months from now.

“It is our hope that in postponing the start of our season for this additional month, the extended period of time will not only allow for us to obtain a clearer picture of the state of the pandemic, but also provide ample opportunity for our series partners, teams, competitors, and fans to plan accordingly. The updated calendar would allow us to still successfully host a complete season of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross competition, in a quick and concise fashion will leave other parts of the calendar open for other racing activities.”

Under the new schedule, the 11-round series would open with seven consecutive weekends of racing, where the Florida National will be followed by the High Point National (June 20), the Southwick National (June 27), the RedBud National (July 4), the Thunder Valley National (July 11), the Spring Creek National (July 18), and the Washougal National (July 25). Following a two week break, the championship will return for its stretch run, beginning with the Unadilla National (Aug. 15), followed by the Budds Creek National (Aug. 22), the Ironman National (Aug. 29), and the Fox Raceway National, which will end the season on Labor Day weekend (Sept. 5).