Millsaps Leads Supercross To Arlington

Davi Millsaps (18) battles Chad Reed at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., earlier this season. (Feld Entertainment photo)
Davi Millsaps (18) battles Chad Reed for third place at Angels Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., earlier this season. (Feld Entertainment photo)

ARLINGTON, Texas – With his second win of the 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, at San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium, Rockstar Energy Racing’s Davi Millsaps brings a 19-point lead into Arlington’s Cowboys Stadium this Saturday night.

This weekend also kicks off the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship.

During last weekend’s 450SX Class Main Event in San Diego, Millsaps jumped out to an early lead with the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, leading Dodge/Sycuan Casino/RCH Racing Suzuki’s Broc Tickle and TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed through turn one. Millsaps successfully held onto the lead the entire race and extended his points lead.

“What can I say, when you’re able to pull the holeshot and ride 20 clean laps you make life a lot easier on yourself,” commented Millsaps, who has now won multiple races in a season for the second time in his career. “It’s been a great start to the season and everyone is working hard to make this happen. You have to be there every week in order to have a chance to win this thing (the championship), and we’re doing our best to keep it out front.”

Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia followed Millsaps across the line in the runner-up position, while Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, who earned his first win of the season at the third stop in Anaheim, finished third. Two-time defending 450SX Class Champion Ryan Villopoto struggled in the Main Event and finished sixth overall.

In the Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event, Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson won the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos and JDR/J-Star KTM’s Malcolm Stewart closely behind. As he made a push for the lead on the opening lap, Davalos lost control of his bike and crashed, falling to the tail end of the field.

Davalos’ misfortune allowed Tomac to move into the second position and set his sights on Anderson in the lead. On Lap 4, Tomac made an inside move on Anderson just before the finish and from there opened a comfortable lead. Behind this battle, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen moved himself into podium position and it wasn’t long before he was on Anderson’s rear fender for second.

Roczen took over the position from Anderson on Lap 7 and set a pace that helped him close the gap on Tomac’s lead. As the laps wound down, Roczen closed in on Tomac and had a chance to steal the win on the final lap. A final desperation move in the final turn put Roczen alongside Tomac heading to the finish, but he missed out on a third straight victory by mere bike lengths.

The Western Regional 250SX Class Championship will now take a break from competition until April 20 in Seattle.

“This was the best way to go into the break,” said Tomac, who has the most wins in the class. “It was an awesome race out there and a good track. It was a little close in the end, but it was a fun race. This place (Qualcomm Stadium) has been hot and cold for me. I won here in 2011, got a DNF last year, and now won here again. We’ll go into the break with some confidence.”

Following a month-and-a-half of competing in the Western Region, the championship’s Eastern Region debut will also signify its first race inside a true domed stadium. For the first time in 2013, weather will influence the outcome of the race, which should result in a captivating battle for the win. Cowboys Stadium will be the first of seven domes over the next eight races.

Following six weeks of Western Regional 250SX Class action, the rising stars of the Eastern Regional Championship will take center stage in Arlington. Led by last season’s Western Regional Championship runner-up Dean Wilson, none of the riders in the East have ever won a Monster Energy Supercross 250SX Class title, which should make for an exciting battle for the championship.

Wilson is the most decorated rider in the field, having won five career 250SX Class races for his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team. He will lead the way for his teammates Darryn Durham, who won his first career race last season, and rookie Justin Hill. A formidable challenge will come from Rockstar Energy Racing’s Blake Wharton, a two-time 250SX Class winner, and his teammate Nico Izzi.

Additionally, the GEICO Honda lineup of Wil Hahn, Justin Bogle, and rookie Zach Bell will also be in the hunt. While none of the riders have tasted victory, they have impressive speed. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin rounds out the group of contenders and while he is still in search of his first win as well, the success of his teammates this season are sure to have a positive influence.