Millsaps Claims Supercross Opener

This week's race at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. will honor 40 years of Supercross history. (Monster Energy photo)
A sold-out crowd watched the Monster Energy AMA Supercross opener at Angels Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. (Monster Energy photo)

ANAHEIM, Calif. — Before a sold-out crowd of 45,050 at Angel Stadium, Rockstar Energy Racing Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., won the opening race of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac, of Durango, Colo., opened the Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event with a dominant victory, besting the field with a 6.44-second margin of victory.

Millsaps picked up the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Honda/Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard, of Shawnee, Okla., and his teammate Justin Barcia, of Ochlocknee, Ga., following in second and third respectively. Two-time defending 450SX Class Champion Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., started in 12th place.

On lap eight, while working his way through the field, Villopoto crashed and dropped several positions before re-entering the race. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., held down the fourth position and began making up time on Barcia, but on lap 15, he crashed in a turn. After waiting patiently for 16 laps, Canard made his move around Millsaps for the lead, and on the same lap, Barcia suffered a crash. Millsaps made a last-ditch effort on Canard, zipping through the whoops around Canard for the win. Canard finished second and Dungey finished third.

“It was a great night for me,” said Millsaps. “This is my first win since 2010, and I was just trying to keep calm out there. It has been a long time since I have led a race, so it was hard to calm my nerves.”

Lucas Oil/Troy Less Designs Honda’s Cole Seely, of Newbury Park, Calif., opened the 250SX Class Main Event with the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot. Following turn one, he was one of several riders, including Heat Race winner Martin Davalos, of the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team, that were involved in a crash. Tomac, the defending 250SX Class Champion, assumed the lead as Malcolm Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., moved into second followed by Ken Roczen, of Germany, in third.

On lap one, Roczen, who rides for the Red Bull KTM team, passed Stewart for second place. After winning the holeshot, Seely dropped to fourth place, but passed Stewart on lap six to secure third place. Tomac’s win marked the eighth of his career. Roczen finished second and Seely finished third.

“I had a tough Heat Race, and that was kind of a wake-up call for me,” said Tomac. “This is how I wanted to start the season. I did a few off-season races, like the Monster Energy Cup, and that kept me in shape.”


Previous articleIt’s All Tyler Bowers In Worcester
Next articleAMASX: Angel Stadium is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.