Eli Tomac Soars To Fifth Daytona Supercross Victory

Eli Tomac poses in victory lane with his team after winning his fifth Daytona Supercross event.
Eli Tomac poses in victory lane with his team after winning his fifth Daytona Supercross event.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – With clear skies over Daytona Int’l Speedway Saturday night, Eli Tomac took home the win during the 51st annual Daytona Supercross.

Colorado’s Tomac, aboard a Kawasaki, tied the Ricky Carmichael with his fifth win during the Daytona Supercross event. His other titles came in 2016, ’17, ’19 and ’20. Tomac led from the first lap in the 20-minute/plus one lap race to take home the victory.

He tied Carmichael, who said, “I think he’s got even more wins (at Daytona) in him.”

The 2019 series champion Cooper Webb finished second on a KTM bike. Aaron Plessinger finished third, his first podium finish. Ken Roczen, still looking for his first Daytona triumph, was fourth.

“All I can say is that Daytona is our house,” said Tomac. “I love it. I was so pumped on that start. It was crucial for us to get this win. I just love riding my dirt bike here and it shows. This was so big for us.”

Prior to the headlining 450SX main event, the 250SX main was won by first-time winner 23-year-old Cameron McAdoo on a Kawasaki. Riders from the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki team have won four of the last five years at Daytona Supercross.

McAdoo had a sizable lead and a dominating victory – the first of his career in 250SX competition. GasGas rider Pierce Brown and Husqvarna rider Stilez Robertson finished second and third.

“This is unreal,” said McAdoo. “That is what we worked for, and I have such a great group of people behind me. I have all the guys at Kawasaki and my whole family to thank. My mom is up in section 365 (of the Daytona frontstretch seating). A shout out to her, because in 2016 she drove me here in a van. This is just awesome. We worked our butts off to get here, but this is just the beginning.”

Racing began Saturday night with heat events – two apiece for the 450SX and 250SX classes with each heat sending nine drivers to the main events. Webb and Roczen won the 450 heats, while McAdoo (Kawasaki) and Hunter Lawrence (Honda) took the 250 heats.

Following the heats, respective Last Chance Qualifier races advanced the top-four finishers from each going to the mains. Hardy Munoz (Yamaha) took the 250SX LCQ; Dean Wilson (Husqvarna) was the 450SX winner.