Dungey Gets It Done At Muddy Creek

Ryan Dungey won Saturday's Lucas Oil Motocross Championship event at Blountville, Tenn. (Lucas Oil Motocross Championship photo)
Ryan Dungey won Saturday’s Lucas Oil Motocross Championship event at Blountville, Tenn. (Lucas Oil Motocross Championship photo)

BLOUNTVILLE, Tenn. — Another page was added to the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross history book as the inaugural Built Ford Tough Tennessee National took place on Saturday at Muddy Creek Raceway.

For the first time in 15 years, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, made a stop in the Southeast region. At round 3 of the 12-race series, new winners emerged in both the 450 and 250 Class as teammates Ryan Dungey (450) and Marvin Musquin (250) each secured their first overall win in 2013.

Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX rider Josh Grant laid down the fastest lap time of the day in the 450 Class, giving the California native first gate pick of the day. Moto 1 got off to an exciting start as Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto shot off the gate to claim his first Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season, as well as the early lead. It wasn’t without contention from Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia though, as the two put on an exciting show for the fans by dicing back and forth at the beginning of Moto 1. In the second half of the race, Villopoto eventually put a gap on the rookie Barcia, where he went on to secure his fifth consecutive moto win this season.

Meanwhile, reigning 450 Class Champion Ryan Dungey was forced to make his way through the field after starting mid-pack in the opening moto. The Red Bull KTM rider eventually made his way past Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart to take over the third place position in Moto 1. FIM World Championship contender Clement Desalle put in a valiant ride to finish fifth place behind Stewart, while Smartop/MotoConcepts rider Mike Alessi secured a sixth place spot after running up front for most of the first moto.

In the 250 Class, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle grabbed his first Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot of the season, but Bogle went down, and rookie Cooper Webb immediately put his MyPlash Star Yamaha/Metal Mulisha machine out front on the opening lap. Webb went head-to-head with Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen early on, but this time experience prevailed as Roczen commanded the lead in Moto 1, with teammate Marvin Musquin in the second place position.

Webb then engaged in a four-way battle with Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson, GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne and defending 250 Class Champion Blake Baggett. Baggett was able to break free from Anderson and Webb, before setting his sights on Musquin in the second place position.

Round 2 winner Eli Tomac began Moto 1 outside of podium contention but the GEICO Honda rider made his way into a top five position halfway through the race. Tomac and Webb battled it out for the fourth place position near the end of the race, where Tomac succeeded, leaving Webb to round out the top five.