Bisceglia Wraps Up Second National Title

Matt Bisceglia earned the Horizon Award as the top rider during the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.
Matt Bisceglia earned the Horizon Award as the top rider during the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. — AMSOIL/Factory Connection Honda rider Matt Bisceglia had lofty and specific goals for his final go-around at the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL.

In front of a national television audience on Saturday, Bisceglia cleared the final hurdles by winning the last 250A moto at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch and the class’ national championship.

Adding to the Open Pro Sport class championship he won on Friday and five moto wins in six tries, Bisceglia was awarded the crown jewel of his weeklong aspirations: the AMA’s prestigious Horizon Award, which goes to the top rider on the verge of turning pro.

“I only lost one moto all week, and even the silver medal I got was close to a win,” Bisceglia said. “I just stayed consistent and smart. I’m so happy to have done this well this week.”

Bisceglia won’t have much time to bask in his final amateur success because he is turning pro next week and racing in the Aug. 10 Unadilla National as a member of the GEICO Honda team.

“In a lot of ways I still feel like I’m dreaming,” Bisceglia said. “I can’t wait to go into Unadilla. My confidence is high. I was glad to get this win on TV. My mom couldn’t make it this week and I’m hoping she was watching.”

AMSOIL/Factory Connection Honda teammate Jordon Smith clinched the 250B Limited National Championship with his third moto win in that class. He also rebounded from a couple of tough motos in the 250B class to finish second in the final race of the division.

“I had a great moto (in 250B Limited),” Smith said. “I got into a couple of little pileups at the start of the race but made some good passes. Everyone has been riding so good in this class it’s hard to race your way to the front. It was a good way to end the week.”

Aaron Plessinger (250 B and 450 B Limited), Jett Reynolds (51, 7-8 Limited and 65, 7-9 Limited), Ryan Surratt (Schoolboy 1, 12-16 B/C and Schoolboy 2, 13-16 B/C) and Joey Crown (Mini Sr, 12-14 Limited and Mini Sr 12-14) each won a pair of national titles.

Other national champions crowned were Adam Nickerson (250 C Limited), Tauan Brenner (250 C), Luke Renzland (450 A), Tyler McSwain (450 B), Derek Valenzuela (450 C), Jerry Robin (Two-Stroke B/C 16+), Josh Cartwright (College B/C, 16-24), Timmy Ferry (Junior 25+), Michael Mitchell (Vet B/C 30+), Robbie Reynard (Vet 35+), Keith Johnson (Senior 40+), Trampas Parker (Senior 45+), Kevin Foley (Masters 50+), Daxton Bennick (51, 4-6 Special Limited), Levi Bolton (51, 4-6 Shaft Drive Limited), Casey Cochran (51, 4-6 Limited), Aiden Tijero (65, 10-11 Limited), Ty Masterpool (65, 7-11 Limited), Jalek Swoll (85, 9-11 Limited), Garrett Marchbanks (85, 9-11), Mitchell Harrison (Super Mini 1, 12-15), Ashton Hayes (Super Mini 2, 13-16), Hannah Hodges (Girls, 12-16), Jazzmyn Canfield (Girls 9-11) and Mackenzie Tricker (Women 14+).