Anaheim Race Honors 40 Years Of SX History

This week's race at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. will honor 40 years of Supercross history. (Monster Energy photo)
This week’s race at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif. will honor 40 years of Supercross history. (Monster Energy photo)

ANAHEIM, Calif. – Feld Motor Sports has announced that the second Monster Energy AMA Supercross race at Angel Stadium this Saturday will serve as the official 40th Anniversary celebration race.

To kick the weekend off, several past champions will join Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen at the pre-race press conference and take part in a Q&A session that looks back at the 40 years of racing at Angel Stadium. On Friday evening, fans can celebrate with the champions at the OC Sports Bar from 5 p.m. – 8 p.m. PT.

On race day, fans can take part in a meet and greet at the Monster Energy Supercross 40th Anniversary Legends and Heroes display in the pit area, where iconic bikes and retro memorabilia will be on display. During opening ceremonies, all 22 supercross champions will be presented a commemorative helmet before being introduced to the crowd during opening ceremonies.
The race track will be a replica of the 2001 Anaheim season opener course, which marked the passing of the torch from seven-time 450SX Class Champion Jeremy McGrath to Ricky Carmichael, who went on to win five championships and sits second on the all-time win list. These two great champions will also take a hot lap on the iconic track during opening ceremonies.

Many of the current teams and riders of Monster Energy Supercross are also expected to get into the throwback spirit of the 40th anniversary celebration, and fans are encouraged to embrace the commemorative theme.

“Supercross was a very important part of my racing experience,” said Pierre Karsmakers, the first-ever supercross champion. “I was fortunate enough to be a part of an emerging sport in its early years. My generation is so impressed by the new generation of riders and of course the development of the bikes. As the first AMA Supercross champion, I have great respect to be honored with such remarkable riders at the 40th anniversary celebration”

“It is an honor to be among these 22 deserving champions of Monster Energy Supercross,” said Ryan Villopoto, the reigning three-time 450SX Class Champion. “I am especially excited to race at this 40th-anniversary event and to see the legends of the sport honored in front of a huge crowd. The second race at Anaheim is going to be a great race, and I am also looking forward to seeing everyone in the pits wearing their retro gear.”

For the first-time ever, we will have all 22 supercross champions on hand at Angel Stadium.

450SX Class Champions   
Jeremy McGrath (7 Titles, ‘93; ’94; ’95; ’96; ’98; ’99; ’00), Ricky Carmichael (5 Titles, ’01; ’02; ’03; ’05; ’06), Bob Hannah (3 Titles, ’77; ’78; ’79), Jeff Stanton (3  Titles, ’89; ’90; ’92), Ryan Villopoto (3  Titles, ’11; ’12; ‘13), Jeff Ward (2 Titles, ‘85; ’87), Chad Reed (2 Titles, ’04; ’08), Rick Johnson (2 Titles, ’86; ’88), James Stewart (2 Titles, ’07; ’09), Pierre Karsmakers (1 Title, ’74), Jim Ellis (1 Titles,  ‘75), Jim Weinert (1 Title, ’76), Mike Bell (1 Titles, ‘80), Mark Barnett (1 Titles, ‘81), Donnie Hansen (1 Titles, ’82), David Bailey (1 Titles, ‘83), Johnny O’Mara (1 Title, ‘84), J.M. Bayle (1 Title, ‘91), Jeff Emig (1 Title, ’97), Ryan Dungey (1 Title, ’10)