AMA Sets International Enduro Roster


Like ISDE veteran Brown, who won the 2001 125cc AMA National Motocross Championship before his career shifted to off-road racing, Osborne’s roots are in motocross. However, the 23-year-old — a newcomer to the ISDE — has been branching into off-road recently and says he is ready for the competition at the ISDE.

“I’m very excited about this opportunity,” Osborne said. “I know it will be a challenge for me, but I’m working hard to be prepared and do my best for the team. I have to give a big thanks to everyone involved in picking me, and also my team for supporting me and giving me a bike to race.”

The World Trophy Team is one of three premier teams that represent the United States at the ISDE. The others are the Junior Trophy Team, which fields four riders younger than 23 years old, and the Women’s Trophy Team, which fields three female riders. In addition, several club team members represent the United States at the event.

The U.S. Junior Trophy Team will include Grant Baylor from Belton, S.C.; Steward Baylor from Belton, S.C.; Andrew DeLong from Morgantown, Pa.; and Jesse Groemm from Forked River, N.J. Grant and Steward Baylor are brothers, and both will ride KTMs. DeLong will ride a Husqvarna, and Groemm will compete on a Yamaha.

The U.S. Women’s Cup Team will include Rachel Gutish from Terre Haute, Ind.; Mandi Mastin from Whitehouse, Ohio; and Brooke Hodges from San Martin, Calif. All three Women’s Cup Team riders will field KTMs in Italy.

The U.S. ISDE team has also designated a Senior Club Team of veterans from the club team members. This year, the Senior Club Team will include Team JAFMAR riders Scott Bright from Platteville, Colo.; Jeff Fredette from Beecher, Ill.; and Brian T. Storrie from Denton, Texas.

The Wellard Team will represent one of the strongest club teams this year. It will include national-caliber riders Nick Fahringer from Dayton, Ohio, on a Husaberg; Jimmy Jarrett from Salem, Ohio, on a Kawasaki; and Ryan Sipes, from Flaherty, Ky., on a Suzuki.

Other teams include team (Johnny Barner, Ian Blythe and Alex Dorsey); AMA District 37 (Sam Buffa, Trevor Kline and Ryan Kudla); team Tony Agonis (Keith Curtis, Fred Hoess and Josh Knight); and Dewitt Powersports (Jeff O’Leary, Shawn O’Leary and Cory Pincock).

Previous articleSunoco Supports RUSH Late Models
Next articleCastroneves Discusses Texas Penalty is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.