Steve Kinser Tops List Of MSHFA Inductees

Steve Kinser
Steve Kinser tops the list of motorsports personalities that will enter the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2017. (Adam Fenwick Photo)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series legend Steve Kinser leads a seven-person list of luminaries representing sports cars, stock cars, land-speed records, motorcycles, open-wheel and drag racing that make up the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America  2017 class of inductees.

The announcement was made in Daytona Int’l Speedway’s infield media center prior to qualifying for the 55th running of the Rolex 24 At Daytona. Kinser is joined on the new inductee list by five-time Rolex 24 champion Scott Pruett; three-time Daytona 200 motorcycle champion Dick Klamfoth; two-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Terry Labonte; drag racing and land-speed record pioneer Paula Murphy; Herb Thomas, another two-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series titlist; and multi-faceted legend Brock Yates.

The 2017 class will be inducted on June 28 in Daytona Beach during the 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony.

Pruett shares the record for Rolex 24 championships with 2005 MSHFA inductee Hurley Haywood. Pruett is racing in this year’s sports car classic that starts Saturday afternoon, driving a new Lexus entry in the production-based GT Daytona class.

“I’m honored … I’m overwhelmed,” Pruett said. “I’ve been blessed with this incredible career and these sort of unexpected achievements are humbling. I’m just really proud to represent sports car racing. And considering my special relationship with Daytona and the fact the hall of fame is here in Daytona, is just one more reason this is special.”

For a rundown of the 2017 class, click to the next page.