Quater-Scale Racers Invade Lakeville


The green flag flew on the A Main 200-lap race with all ten Sportsman race cars and drivers having a legitimate shot of bringing home the hardware. Ellis found trouble early and pulled out of the race at lap 13. The B main winner Randy Brown drops out just three laps later. Matt Hilber from Mukwonago, Wis., led the first 74 laps until he tangled with Shoreview, Minn.’s, Scott Schramske. After the skirmish, both drivers were sent to the back of the field.

Schramske battled for the next 125 laps to bringing his No.18 back to second when the checkers waved. Scott also grabbed a heat win in round one. Hilber came home third. Roger Newell from Winona, Wis., earned the lead at lap 74 and never looked back. Newell was flawless on restarts and hit his marks lap after lap making it impossible to get around his WCM Sportsman car.

Roger Newall was congratulated as he won the first ever Bob Newton Memorial Sportsman A Main. Dave Raber from Goshen, Ind., was strong all weekend as he produced a heat win in round two and came home fourth followed by Muncie, Indiana’s own Frank Boling in fifth. Ed Ellis, who was also very strong all weekend as he took a heat win away from power-house, Hilber, came home sixth. All were on the lead lap.

Super Late Model

The Super Late Model (SLM) cars, which have more horsepower and down force with more experienced drivers discovered Brett Gottfried from Toledo OH, sweeping the heat action and leading the field to the green. Gottfried led the first 22 laps until Todd Holloway from Yorktown, Ind., captured the lead and went on next 116 laps pacing the field. Holloway was on a rail and looked to be the class of the field until lap 138 when Lansing Michigan’s Randy Brown takes second away from Gottfried.

As this would be the pass of the race when then leader, Holloway broke a suspension part one lap later and Todd’s TNT is sent to the trailer. Brown held off Gottfried in the closing laps to give Gramcracker a huge win. Joel Hughes from Yucca Valley, Calif., rounded out the top three.

Limited Sportsman

In the Limited Sportsman division in the B Main, Summetville, Indiana’s Keith Barnes won the race to keep on racing and came home second in the A Main. That was very impressive considering Barnes had very limited track time leading into the mains. James Wolfe out of Rockford, Ill., finished second, Dave Hamstra from Demotte, IN, ran third with Indy native Derek Belcher grabbing the final transfer spot.

The A Main race for Limited Sportsman was dominated by Rich Green of Akron, Ohio. Green swept his heat races leading all 100 laps of the feature. Unfortunately Green failed post race inspection due to his No.49 car having more than the legal limit of fuel line according to QSAC rules. Gregg Grahn from Indianapolis, in his No. 28 WCM took home the National win. Barnes was second followed by Fort Wayne’s Mike Little, Belcher and Robert Belonga from Fulton, Ill., (who also swept his heat races) rounded out the top five. Nine of the ten cars finish on the lead lap.

Hoosier hospitality was the keynote theme at the Bob Newton Memorial providing an excellent way to promote the QSAC sport with sponsors of the event, Hoosier Tire, WCM, Predator, TNT, QSC and Holloway Signs and Graphics all offering support to the hand-held racers

The next QSAC National Championship series event presented by WCM will kick off the second half of the QSAC/WCM season at the Machesney (Ill.) Park race on July 19-20.

Previous articleCornell Romps From 18th In ASCS
Next articleAllard Banks 20Gs For Fourth Dirt Cup Title
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.