McKarns Tabbed Auto Racing’s Top Promoter

Outstanding Annual Event Award recipient, Matt Curl, Fairbury American Legion Speedway; 43rd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year, Gregg McKarns, Madison International (Wis.) Speedway, with Workshops chairman Stewart Doty.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Gregg McKarns, promoter of Madison Int’l Speedway, the ARCA Midwest Tour and LaCrosse Speedway’s Oktoberfest weekend was named as recipient of the 43rd Auto Racing Promoter of the Year Award sponsored by Racing Promotion Monthly and Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Readers of Racing Promotion Monthly, the idea newsletter for auto racing promoters, chose McKarns from among six regional nominees.

Honored as Regional Auto Racing Promoters of the Year were McKarns, plus in Region One, Eastern Region: Lyle Devore, Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway; Region Two, Southeastern Region: Bill and Mayes Massey and Doug Stevens, Senoia (Ga.) Raceway; Region Three, the Central Region: Tom Helfrich, Tri-State (Ind.) Speedway; Region Five, the Great Plains Region: Toby Kruse, Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway; and Region Six, the Southwest & Western Region, Adam Nelson, Meridian (Idaho) Speedway.

The Masseys and Stevens received their first nominations, Devore, Nelson, their second nominations, and Helfrich and Kruse, their third nominations. Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway received the Racing Promotion Monthly Award for Outstanding Annual Short Track Event.

The Auto Racing Promoter of the Year is short-track racing’s most prestigious award. It is awarded each year after voting by promoters. The award was originated in 1976 by the editor of Racing Promotion Monthly. Voting is conducted in two phases: a preliminary ballot in the newsletter nominates candidates in six regions.

The six candidates become Regional Promoters of the Year and then appear on a second ballot for final voting. It is the only national award recognizing promotional excellence selected by peers.  The award is for the 30th year sponsored by Charlotte Motor Speedway.