Kurt Busch Named Honorary MSHFA Chairman

Kurt Busch
Kurt Busch

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Kurt Busch, the 2017 Daytona 500 champion and former champion of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, will serve as the Honorary Chairman  for the 29th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the Shores Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach on June 28.

Busch – driver of the No. 41 Haas Automation/Monster Energy Ford for Stewart-Haas Racing – also served as Honorary Chairman in 2011. In addition to NASCAR competition, Busch has competed in the Indianapolis 500, the Rolex 24 At Daytona and NHRA Pro Stock drag racing.

In addition, he and his brother Kyle represented the United States in the global Race of Champions, earlier this year, finishing second. Collectively, that makes Busch a perfect fit for the role of Honorary Chairman, as the MSHFA honors all forms of American motorsports.

“I’m very thankful for the pioneers that helped pave the way to create the sport that we love and enjoy today,” Busch said. “And to have the opportunity to honor this group of inductees as Honorary Chairman is an opportunity I didn’t want to miss.”

This year’s ceremony will induct seven racing legends, including Steve Kinser, Dick Klamfoth, Terry Labonte, Paula Murphy, Scott Pruett, Herb Thomas and Brock Yates.

“It’s an outstanding class of inductees featuring pioneers, champions, record-breakers and innovators,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “And the presence of the 2017 DAYTONA 500 champion will help make this an induction for the ages.”