Johnson vs. Greaves In TORC Finale

Ricky Johnson, shown earlier this season, won Sunday's TORC Pro 4 finale and clinched the series championship in the process.
Ricky Johnson trails Johnny Greaves by four points entering this weekend's final two TORC off-road races.

FLORESVILLE, Texas — The 2011 Traxxas TORC Series, presented by AMSOIL championship will come to a close this weekend as the traveling closed-circuit off-road series makes its inaugural appearance at Cycle Ranch MX Park.

Ricky Johnson enters the season finale doubleheader weekend just four points behind defending Pro 4 champion and point-leader Johnny Greaves in the race for the championship. While Greaves has three victories this season and Johnson has won four times, including the most recent event Sept. 15 at Chicagoland Speedway, with rounds 12 and 13 scheduled this weekend.

Johnson’s round 11 victory came with a final-lap pass of Greaves and was the latest in a late-season charge toward the top of the standings, which included a victory the previous night in the make-up round for a race rained out earlier this season.

“I give it up to my team,” said Johnson. “They gave me the best truck out there.”

Johnson’s Menzies Motorsports teammate Bryce Menzies is also in a title chase. Menzies enters the final weekend with a 43-point lead over Chad Hord in the Pro 2 division.

“I think as a team we’ve done a good job,” Menzies said. “We’ve had a lot of problems throughout the season, but I think we’ve worked out way through them. It wasn’t easy, but I’m pretty pumped we have the points lead heading into Texas.”

Andrew Caddell holds a 74-point lead over R.J. Anderson in the Pro Light standings, while Dan Baudoux holds an 84-point margin the Super Truck division.

Other point leaders heading into the season finale are Matthew Ives (Stock Truck), C.J. Greaves (Super Buggy), Brad Erickson (1600 Buggy), Bradley Lamarche (Formula 4×4) and Greg Stingle (1600 Light Buggy).


Previous articleFederated Backs ARCA Finale
Next articlePHOTOS: ASA Midwest Tour is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.