Gilles Honorary Motorsports HoF Chairman


DETROIT – Ralph Gilles, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) – SRT Brand and Motorsports, Chrysler Group LLC and Senior Vice President – Product Design, Chrysler Group LLC, has been named Honorary Chairman for the 25th Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony at the Fillmore Theatre in downtown Detroit on Aug. 21.

As Honorary Chairman, Gilles will deliver the evening’s keynote address at the black-tie ceremony prior to the induction of the Silver Anniversary class into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. This year’s class includes Jack Chrisman, Harvey Firestone, Masten Gregory, Brad Lackey, Bud Moore, Robert E. Petersen and Alex Zanardi.

Bob Riley, chassis constructor and technology innovator, will receive the prestigious Bob Russo Motorsports Heritage Award during the ceremonies for his numerous contributions to racing.

“To be part of a ceremony recognizing the achievements of these icons of motorsports is an honor,” said Gilles. “Add in the fact it’s the Silver Anniversary Induction Ceremony of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America will make the event even more memorable.

“The eight individuals that will be honored come from a variety of motorsport disciplines. That’s what makes this special, it covers a broad spectrum of motorsport disciplines and not just one specific segment.

“These individuals are recognized for performance. It’s the same for the SRT brand – performance. From the Chrysler 300 SRT, Dodge Charger SRT, Dodge Challenger SRT and Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT to the ultimate sports car, the SRT Viper GTS-R, our passion for performances blends well with the success these pioneers have achieved.”

Gilles is a member of the Board of Trustees for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

“We are pleased to have Ralph serve as Honorary Chairman for the Silver Anniversary induction,” said Ron Watson, President of the Motorsports Hall of Fame. “He is a racer at heart and has been a great supporter of the Hall of Fame and its mission to preserve America’s rich motorsports heritage. He is the perfect person to pay tribute to this year’s induction class that features a champion rider and drivers, a title-winning team owner, a legendary publisher and an industrial giant whose name still graces racing tires today.”