NEAR Announces ’14 Hall Of Fame Class


NEAR logoSOUTH WINDSOR, Conn. – Drivers Deke Astle, Jim Martel, Mike Rowe, Fred Schulz and Ron Wyckoff, drag racing icon Bob Tasca, historian R.A. Silvia and car builder/mechanic Dave Tourigny make up the New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame’s class of 2014.

They, along with the still to be announced pioneer class, will be inducted at NEAR’s 16th Hall of Fame banquet Sunday, Nov. 16th, at The Lodge at Maneeley’s in South Windsor, Conn.

Banquet ticket information will be announced shortly and will be posted on the New England’s Antique Racers’ website ( in the near future.

Astle was a champion at both Seekonk and Lakeville Speedways. “The Little Man with the Big Cigar” was also a major force throughout Eastern New England, most notably at Westboro and Thompson Speedways.

Martel won in cars ranging from Cutdowns to Supermodifieds over four-plus decades of competition. He has victories at over a dozen tracks.

Maine’s Turner continues to compete, adding to a list of accomplishments that includes over 200 victories and 13 championships including seven at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The late Schultz’s championships at Norwood Arena (1969) and Westboro Speedway (1978) figure among a list of accomplishments over a career that began in the post-World War II “cutdown” era.

Wyckoff was a major winner at Plainville Stadium and Riverside Park Speedway and a force everywhere else in the 1960s and ‘70s.

Tourigny designed, built and maintained an impressive list of Modifieds for the Koszela family and for drivers Fred DeSarro, Bugs Stevens and Mike Stefanik.

Silva has emerged as one of New England top auto racing historian, serving promoters, competitors, media and fans for over three decades.