NMPA Announces New HoF Inductees


DARLINGTON, S.C. – Mario Andretti, the only driver to capture the Daytona 500, Indianapolis 500 and a Formula One World Championship, headlines this year’s inductees into the National Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Along with Andretti, NASCAR championship-winning crew chief Ray Evernham and veteran motorsports writer Steve Waid will also be honored when the 2013 class is inducted Jan. 25 in Concord, N.C.

During a racing career that spanned more than four decades, Andretti won 33 times in Indy Car, 19 in CART and 12 in Formula One. The versatile driver made 14 starts in NASCAR’s top series, winning the 1967 Daytona 500 in only his second start in the premier event.

Evernham, currently a race-day analyst for ESPN, was the crew chief for driver Jeff Gordon when the Hendrick Motorsports tandem won NASCAR titles in 1995, 1997 and 1998. Forty-seven of Gordon’s 88 career wins came with Evernham calling the shots. Evernham also helped usher Dodge back into NASCAR competition in 2000, and as a team owner saw his Evernham Motorsports organization win 13 times in Cup.

Waid, who has covered NASCAR for more than four decades, began reporting on NASCAR for daily newspapers before joining the staff of Grand National Scene and eventually GN Illustrated, where he held the position of publisher. He is a former winner of the NMPA’s George Cunningham Award and was presented the Henry T. McLemore Award for outstanding lifetime achievement in motorsports journalism in 1989.

The NMPA Hall of Fame, located on the grounds of Darlington (S.C.) Raceway, was founded in 1965.