Oliver Askew Wins Road To Indy Shootout

Oliver Askew
Oliver Askew earned a $200,000 scholarship to compete in the Cooper Tires USF2000 series next year after winning the Mazda Road to Indy Shootout

MONTEREY, Calif. – Two days of competition at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca ended Wednesday with Oliver Askew being declared winner of the inaugural Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout.

Askew, 19, who gained his entry to the Shootout after claiming a Team USA Scholarship, emerged victorious from a total of 18 young drivers from around the world.

“I am a bit speechless right now,” said Askew, who will receive a Mazda Scholarship worth $200,000 and the right to carry the coveted Soul Red livery in next year’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda. “I prepared extremely hard for this opportunity and it’s a dream come true. I can’t thank everyone enough who is involved in this program: Mazda especially, Cooper Tires, Lucas Oil School of Racing, the judges.… There are so many people that got together to make this happen. It’s great event and I’d also like to thank my family, all of my personal supporters and my competitors for making it extremely tough. That was one of the best races I’ve ever had in car racing. I had a blast and I’m really looking forward to the future.”

Throughout the year, nearly 400 drivers from 20 open-wheel racing championships on five continents competed for an entry ticket to the Shootout. Each of the affiliated championships and organizations had forged ties with the acclaimed Mazda Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires, which provides Mazda Scholarships at every level to facilitate graduation all the way from the grassroots of the sport to the Verizon IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500.

“The event ran almost perfectly, which is hard to imagine, but it’s all due to the hard work everybody put in from the Mazda Motorsports team, Andersen Promotions, Cooper Tires and the Lucas Oil School of Racing,” said Mazda Motorsports Operations Manager Kyle Kimball. “It was a success due to the people involved. I can’t say enough about the team I had around me.

“As for the winner, the current advertising tagline for Mazda is ‘Driving Matters.’ We came into this with equal cars, each driver with his own set of tires, and Oliver Askew was continually and consistently the fastest driver on track. We could not be more thrilled to give him the $200,000 scholarship into USF2000.”

Askew was one of six finalists selected from a group that started with 18 drivers. Other analysts were Kyle Kirkwood, Australia’s Will Brown, Trenton Estep, Ireland’s Niall Murray and England’s Oliver White.

Those six drivers competed in a 15-minute qualifying session followed by a 30-minute race in which the cars were flagged away at two-second intervals.

White led the field away by virtue of posting the fastest lap in qualifying, followed by Brown, Askew, Estep, Kirkwood and Murray, although as an additional challenge for the six finalists, each was assigned a different car for the final race.

A couple of mistakes in the early stages allowed Askew to sneak past Brown into second place, by which time White already had established a margin of 3.3 seconds. It didn’t last long. Little by little, Askew whittled away at the deficit until, by the ninth lap, the gap had been reduced to just a few cars lengths. The pair then engaged in a battle, passing and repassing each other several times over the course of the next handful of laps before Askew was able to assert himself and edge away to victory.

In the end, Askew’s performance combined with his consistent speed was enough for the judges to name him the winner.

“My overall thought is that this was a fantastic group, especially the final six drivers,” said lead judge Joe Miller, a driver on Mazda’s prototype team. “The lap times speak for themselves: they were each within half-a-second on pace. The final decision came down to the driver who was consistently the quickest, who most satisfied our criteria and who seemed most equipped for the Mazda Road to Indy and had a great possibility of becoming a Verizon IndyCar Series driver. It was heavily based on that concept. Speed put you in the running, but it was everything – how the drivers behaved at dinner or how they acted around the judges – all of that was taken into consideration, and Oliver met all of our criteria. The guy that won was the guy who checked the most boxes.”