Jamin Pads USF2000 Points Lead

Nico Jamin kicked off his weekend in style. (Al Steinberg photo)
Nico Jamin kicked off his weekend in style. (Al Steinberg photo)
Nico Jamin kicked off his weekend in style. (Al Steinberg photo)

LEXINGTON, Ohio – Frenchman Nico Jamin claimed his sixth win of this year’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda for three-time defending champion team Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, and perhaps his easiest.

The 19-year-old from Rouen, France, qualified on the pole for the ninth time in 12 races and took advantage of some squabbling behind him to open up an appreciable advantage right from the start. Jamin turned a series of super-consistent laps, each of them faster than his pursuers before taking the checkered flag in race one of the Allied Building Products Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio almost six seconds to the good.

Australian Anthony Martin (John Cummiskey Racing) made a sensational start from fourth on the grid, sweeping around the outside of Americans Jake Eidson (Pabst Racing), who had started second, and Aaron Telitz (Cape Motorsports) to take over second place. The maneuver earned him the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award for the third time this season.

Martin remained under pressure from Telitz and Eidson throughout the remainder of the 30-minute race to claim his fourth podium finish in an impressive rookie season.

Telitz took third, while Eidson had to be content with fourth – only the second time this year in 12 races he had failed to finish on the podium.

Canadian rookie Parker Thompson finished a distant fifth for JDC MotorSports, having held off a race-long challenge from China’s Yufeng Luo (Pabst Racing) and Australian Luke Gabin (Team Pelfrey). Luo claimed the Tilton Hard Charger Award for making up four positions from 10th on the starting grid while Gabin survived an early skirmish with teammate Garth Rickards which ended with Rickards’ car parked against the tire barriers on the exit of the Carousel.

German teenager Keyvan Andres Soori (ArmsUp Motorsports) finished eighth, narrowly ahead of USF2000 debutant Sennan Fielding, from Chesterfield, England, who made an impressive debut for Afterburner Autosport. Fielding’s effort netted him the Staubli Award, while the PFC Award went to the winning car owners, brothers Dominic and Nicholas Cape.