Hamilton Among Latest Indy Pro-Am Racers

Davey Hamilton
Davey Hamilton was one of four drivers to join the Indy Pro-Am on Monday.
Davey Hamilton was one of four drivers to join the Indy Pro-Am on Monday.

SOUTHLAKE, Texas – The field of Indianapolis 500 veterans for the June 8 Sportscar Vintage Racing Ass’n’s (SVRA) Indy Legends Pro-Am race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) picked up four more drivers with impressive credentials today.

Davey Hamilton, Robby Unser, Pete Halsmer and Rocky Moran added their names to a stout roster of talent already announced. They will compete with a field of as many as 20 other Indianapolis 500 veterans in a special feature of the SVRA’s June 6–8 Brickyard Invitational vintage race weekend.

The SVRA, America’s premier vintage racing organization, is creating a return to competition for the famous drivers with a 40 minute race of American muscle cars on the Speedway’s 2.43-mile Grand Prix road course. The cars for the Pro-Am will be 1967 to 1972 vintage Corvettes, Camaros and Mustangs of “Group 6,” with an engine displacement limit of 355 cubic inches. The Indianapolis 500 veterans will be paired with amateur drivers, each taking a 20-minute stint. Five minutes will be allotted for driver change.

Hamilton, renowned for his mastery of super-modified racing, competed in 11 Indianapolis 500s with three top-10 finishes including a fourth place. He recently raced in the new Stadium Super Truck Series. A two-time starter in the Indianapolis 500, Pete Halsmer, had a highly decorated career in sports car racing. He won six Trans-Am races, two International Motorsports Ass’n (IMSA) GTO championships and three class wins in the 24 Hours of Daytona.

Rocky Moran raced in three Indianapolis 500s and won the 1993 24 Hours of Daytona with Mark Dismore and P.J. Jones. Robby Unser competed in two Indianapolis 500s, finishing fifth and eighth. He was Indy Racing League rookie of the year in 1998 and won eight Pikes Peak Int’l Hill Climbs. Robby is the son of three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Unser who was recently announced as the leader of Brickyard Invitational oval experience.

The four latest entries join eleven others previously announced: Two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser Jr., 1992 Rookie-of-the-Year Lyn St. James, Willy T. Ribbs, Mark Dismore, Geoff Brabham, Alex Lloyd, Johnny Parsons Jr., Rick Treadway, Spike Gehlhausen, Rilly Roe and John Hollansworth. Parnelli Jones, who won the 1963 Indianapolis 500 will pace the field as part of his duties as Brickyard Invitational Grand Marshal. The Pro-Am will take place Sunday, June 8.

The Brickyard Invitational weekend promises to be the largest gathering of race cars that has ever been assembled for competition in America. The SVRA has 11 groups of cars spanning 100 years of vintage machines and all will be in action at IMS. The exciting array of entries include exquisite examples of select pre-war machines, classic sports cars, Formula One and Le Mans prototypes as current as 2008.

The storied 2.5-mile oval will be utilized as well with exhibition runs by a wide variety of cars including several of the crowd-favorite 1950’s-vintage Indianapolis 500 “roadsters.” Race fans can enjoy every minute of the action by taking advantage of overnight camping inside the speedway.

“I am in awe of the outstanding talent we are drawing into this Pro-Am charity race,” said SVRA President and CEO Tony Parella. “I continue to talk to great drivers and we will have additional announcements soon.”