Dallara Will Build New Indy Lights Chassis


The IL-15 chassis will be developed and manufactured at Dallara’s state-of-the-art facility in Speedway, Ind. Prototype testing will commence in August with a yet to be announced current IndyCar Series driver. Full renderings of the new chassis will be available in the coming weeks.

In addition to its strong partnership commitment to Indy Lights on the manufacturing side, Dallara will provide a $25,000 award to the Indy Lights champion.

“We are honored for the deal that we have signed with Andersen Promotions for the supply of new Indy Lights cars in 2015,” said Gian Paolo Dallara, President of Dallara Automobili. “Based on our worldwide experience with single-seater race cars and with IndyCar in particular, we are confident and committed to providing the Indy Lights drivers with a safe race car as the appropriate training foundation for their future IndyCar competition. Following the same strategy which we have set in place for the Indy car, a great part of the components of the Indy Lights cars will be manufactured in Indiana by Dallara LLC and by many local suppliers.

“We commit to supporting Dan Andersen and his organization in reaffirming the validity of the Indy Lights concept. Dan has shown great passion and excellent competence in creating a strong ladder system heading to the IndyCar Series, and Indy Lights is the perfect complement.”

Following the announcement in July that Andersen Promotions would license and operate the Indy Lights Series, the company has wasted no time in working to secure a positive future for the series that has been an integral step in the careers of over 100 graduates to date including 2013 IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon.

“Our goal is to rebuild, rebrand and re-buzz Indy Lights,” added Andersen. “The series has been stagnant for a while. So far, I think we are on the right track. I remember the old days in Indy Lights with large fields of outstanding drivers working their way to the top. While we want to bring back those days, we also want to move into the future and provide upcoming stars like (2013 Pro Mazda champion) Matthew Brabham and (2013 USF2000 champion) Scott Hargrove the series they need to propel them into the next phase of their careers.

“We have a temporary but goal-reaching plan in place for next season with an updated car, and I am thrilled with what we will be able to offer drivers in 2015.”

Previous articleMartinsville Truck Penalties Announced
Next articleLupton Gets K&N West Rookie Honors
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.