ST. PETERSBURG –¬†After a challenging Formula One season, Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport was awarded the championship trophies they earned during the Formula One World Championship season on Friday night.

Toto Wolff received the fifth consecutive FIA Formula One Constructors’ Championship trophy on behalf of the team, and Lewis Hamilton was awarded his fifth Drivers’ Championship trophy during the FIA Prize Giving Gala.

Held in St. Petersburg’s historic Philharmonia, the FIA Prize Giving Gala recognized the achievements of many different teams and drivers in all of the FIA-regulated racing series.

“This has been our most challenging season so far and put all of us to the test,” Wolff said. “We all had to raise our game, each and every member of our team. The fact that we ended up winning both titles is a testament to the incredibly hard work of the entire team. I am very proud of this accomplishment and I feel honoured to receive this trophy on behalf of everyone in Brixworth, Brackley and Stuttgart who helped to win these Championships.

“One of the great things about the FIA Prize Giving Gala is that the event brings together so many different motorsport champions. Huge congratulations to everyone who fought hard to receive a championship trophy tonight – well done!”

The FIA Prize Giving Gala also recognised the achievements of George Russell and Mick Schumacher in F2 and F3 respectively.

After securing the title in Abu Dhabi in late November, Russell was awarded the FIA Formula 2 Drivers’ Championship trophy, while Schumacher, who had clinched the title in mid-October in Hockenheim, received the FIA Formula 3 European Drivers’ Championship trophy.

The President’s Award was won by Niki Lauda and Toto Wolff for their contribution to the fifth consecutive Constructors’ Championship. Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport is only the second team in the history of Formula One to win five consecutive double titles.

These awards crowned one of the most successful years in the motorsport history of Mercedes-Benz. The brand won each possible title in Formula 1, DTM, Formula 2, Formula 3 and F1 eSports, as well as enjoying its most successful ever year in customer motorsport.

All told, the marque earned more than 130 wins and over 40 titles, including the first ever FIA GT Nations Cup.

In Formula One, specifically, the team claimed 11 wins in 21 races and scored 13 pole positions, leading 542 of 1,264 laps.