Dutch Grand Prix Returning To F-1 Calendar


ZANDVOORT, Netherlands – The Dutch Grand Prix will return to the Formula One calendar in 2020 at Circuit Zandvoort.

An agreement was recently signed between Formula One officials and the Dutch Grand Prix – a partnership formed by SportVibes, TIG Sports and the Circuit Zandvoort. The Dutch Grand Prix will remain on the Formula One calendar through at least 2023.

Heineken, a longstanding global partner of Formula One, will be the title sponsor of the event.

“We are particularly pleased to announce that Formula One is returning to race in the Netherlands, at the Zandvoort track,” said Formula One Chairman and CEO Chase Carey. “From the beginning of our tenure in Formula One, we said we wanted to race in new venues, while also respecting the sport’s historic roots in Europe. Next season therefore, we will have a brand new street race that will be held in the Vietnamese capital of Hanoi, as well the return to Zandvoort, after an absence of 35 years; a track that has contributed to the popularity of the sport all over the world.

“In recent years, we’ve seen a resurgence of interest in Formula One in Holland, mainly due to the enthusiastic support for the talented Max Verstappen, as seen from the sea of orange at so many races. No doubt this will be the dominant colour in the Zandvoort grandstands next year.”

Zandvoort is a major beach resort in the Netherlands, known for its long beach bordered by coastal dunes separating the North Sea from the track. Circuit Zandvoort has a long history as a Formula One venue, and over the coming months, the facility will be rebuilt with help from Zandvoort town council and several other partners. The track and the infrastucture will be modified in order to meet the standards laid out by the FIA in order to host a Formula One event.

When the 2020 race takes place, it will be the 31st Dutch Grand Prix to count as a round of the World Championship. It was first held in 1952, when it was won by a Ferrari driven by Alberto Ascari, who went on to win the world championship that year.

Apart from the Italian, there were a further 19 winners, of which 12 were also world champions. Jim Clark holds the record with four Dutch Grand Prix wins to his name. The last Dutch Grand Prix took place in 1985.