Traxxas Shootout Fields Nearly Full


Last year Courtney Force won the Funny Car fan vote with 63 percent of the votes and Brandon Bernstein won the Top Fuel fan vote with 35 percent. Both drivers also were selected in the random lottery drawing. In order to be eligible for the fan vote/lottery drawing, drivers must have competed in each regular season race this season.

The Top Fuel drivers who are currently eligible for the fan vote are: Doug Kalitta, Clay Millican, Morgan Lucas, David Grubnic, Brittany Force and Terry McMillen.

Current fan vote eligible Funny Car drivers are Robert Hight, Jack Beckman, Tim Wilkerson, Del Worsham, Bob Tasca III, Alexis DeJoria, Jeff Arend and Tony Pedregon.

Fan voting begins Sunday, Aug. 18 at approximately 5 p.m. (ET) following completion of the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd, Minn., and will run through Tuesday, Aug. 27 at noon (ET). Fans can vote at NHRA’s Facebook page.

The fan vote process will determine how many lottery balls are assigned to each fan vote eligible driver for the random lottery drawing, which will take place at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals press conference/fan fest, Wednesday, Aug. 28 at Monument Circle at downtown Indianapolis.

Should the seventh position in Funny Car remain unfilled following the Brainerd event, the Funny Car driver who is highest in the Mello Yello Series points standings without a win will be inserted into that position.

Teams qualify for the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts by winning an NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series regular season event, holding the No. 1 spot in the standings after the event in Brainerd, Minn., or via a fan vote and lottery-style drawing. The NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout awards $100,000 to the winners in both the Top Fuel and Funny Car events. The program also awards the top four finishers in each event, with the runners-up receiving $15,000 and the semifinal losers $7,500.

Top Fuel Drivers Qualified: Shawn Langdon, Tony Schumacher, Antron Brown, Spencer Massey, Bob Vandergriff Jr., Steve Torrence, Khalid alBalooshi.

Funny Car Drivers Qualified: Courtney Force, Ron Capps, Johnny Gray, Cruz Pedregon, Matt Hagan, John Force.

Previous articleTom Sykes Leads Q1 In Russia
Next articlePHOTOS: King Of Wings At Oswego is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.