Lucas Supports Garlits Museum Induction


OCALA, Fla. — Don Garlits, chairman of the Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing announced the return of Lucas Oil Products, Inc. as major sponsor for the 2013 induction banquet for the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame, which is based at the museum.

This marks the fourth consecutive year that Lucas Oil has been a sponsor of the dinner. Lucas Oil joins new co-sponsors the National Hot Rod Ass’n and Summit

Racing Equipment for this prestigious event.

“Lucas Oil is proud to support Don Garlits and the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame Dinner. It is because of the dedication of these individuals and organizations that Lucas Oil supports drag racing with such commitment,” stated Forrest Lucas, Founder and CEO of Lucas Oil Products. “I know firsthand the dedication and hard work it takes to prepare and organize events such as these, it is why we take such pride in our support of drag racers, past and present; they are among the most dedicated people in all of motorsports. Don’s passion and efforts for the sport are appreciated.”

The event will be known as the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame Induction Banquet presented by NHRA, Summit Racing and Lucas Oil and will be held at the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites March 14 preceding the NHRA Gatornationals.

The class of 2013 Hall of Fame inductees include: Dave Boertman (Norton Shores, Mich.) — to be introduced by Pro Stock champion Allen Johnson; Wally Booth (Beverly Hills, Mich.) — introduced by NHRA’s National Dragster Senior Editor John Jodauga; Bernie Fedderly (Brownsburg, Ind.) — introduced by former Funny Car champions John Force and Robert Hight; Harry Hibler (Shadow Hills, Calif.) — introduced by Hall of Fame member Ed Pink: the Hirata, Hobbs & Vodnik Team — Kenny Hirata (Lowell, Ind.), Phil Hobbs (Greenwood, Ind.) and Bobby Vodnik (Oak Forest, Ill.) introduced by Funny Car champion Jack Beckman; Louis Senter (Encino, Calif.) — introduced by Top Fuel champion Antron Brown; and the late K.S. (Tiger) Pittman (Springfield, Mo.) — introduced by NHRA/Wally Parks Museum curator Greg Sharp; and Dick Rosberg (Rockingham, N.C.) introduced by Rockingham Dragway President Steve Earwood.



Previous articleChina Racing Joins Formula E
Next articleUSCS Frostbuster Postponed is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.