Eric Latino Tops PMRA Drags


CAYUGA, Ontario — The second event in the Pro Modified Racing Association, the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, and the Pro Bike & Sled Series was held over the weekend at the Cayuga Dragway of Toronto Motorsports Park, and winners were confirmed in all three drag race series.

The PMRA final was a first in the Pro Modified series, as both competitors were entering the final with sub-six second postings. After a bit of a wild ride, Eric Latino of Whitby, Ontario, took the win over Vito Montesano of Maple, Ontario.

With his new 1969 Camaro, Latino recorded a 6.758-second, 232.95 mph pass over Montesano’s 6.630, 157.76. Montesano qualified for the race in number one spot with his 1969 Camaro with a 5.889, and Latino started in the number two spot with a 5.898.

Semi-finalists in the PMRA race were John Russo of Middletown, Massachusetts, and Mark Nielsen of Brantford, Ontario.

The win was Latino’s second in PMRA racing.

The Pro Modified Racing Association teams compete for the Championship Point Award Series presented by Patio Passport and Magnum Auto Parts.

Also capturing his second event win was Darrin Grubb of Kincardine, Ontario, who won the final round in the Quick 32 Sportsman Series presented by NAPA Auto Parts. Grubb’s Top Sportsman 2004 Cavalier bested the Top Dragster of Mike Hinbest of Orangeville, Ontario with a 7.207-second, 194.86 posting over Hinbest’s 6.361, 212.46.

This series features a ladder of Top Dragster cars and Top Sportsman cars, which race in their own division, and the two finalists are matched up for an event winner.

Placing second on the Top Dragster division was Tony Positano of Toronto, Ontario, and Phil Sampson of Brampton, Ontario, was runner-up in the Top Sportsman division.

Riding his Pro Bike 1978 Kawasaki, Randy Hope of London, Ontario won the event final in the PBSS presented by Wiseco Performance Products over the Pro Sled Yamaha snowmobile of Michael Swartz of Woodstock, Ontario.

Hope took out Swartz with an 8.723-second, 141.37 mph run over Swartz’s 8.717, 164.87.

This series is also structured on a Sportsman-style, dial-in format.

Taking second in the Pro Bike division was Dan Cryderman of Thamesville, Ontario, and Dave Marshall of Prescott, Ontario was runner-up in the Pro Sled division.



Previous articleFORMULA ONE: Canadian Grand Prix
Next articleSCCA Super Tour Visits Mid-Ohio is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.