Yates Out As McGaha’s Crew Chief


EPPING, N.H. – NHRA Pro Stock driver Chris McGaha and Jim Yates, who started the season as his crew chief, have parted ways effective immediately.

A new crew chief has not been named.

“It was a tough decision, and a lot has been leading up to this point,” said McGaha. “With the inconsistencies in our program, we felt like we needed to make a change. We wish Jim well, and we thank him for the time he spent with us.”

Yates is a two-time former NHRA Pro Stock driving champion and also has two Pro Stock championships as a crew chief with Allen Johnson (2012) and Jeg Coughlin Jr. (2013).