Reflecting On A Strong Year For Don Schumacher Racing

Matt Hagan claimed his third NHRA Funny Car title on Sunday. (NHRA Photo)
Matt Hagan led Don Schumacher Racing’s Funny Car dominance this year. (NHRA Photo)

Funny Car Win Streak

After a four-and-a-half-month hiatus due to COVID-19, NHRA returned to action in early July, resuming the 2020 schedule with four consecutive fan-attended events at historic Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. At the first race back, Matt Hagan and the Mopar Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat team earned their first W of the season, extending DSR’s consecutive Funny Car win count to six, a streak Hagan and the Mopar team started back in October 2019 when they claimed victory at the annual Ennis, Texas event.

By the end of the 2020 season, DSR had gone 11-for-11 on the year and will start 2021 looking to add to its record-total of 14 straight Funny Car wins. DSR had previously held the NHRA record for number of consecutive team wins in a single category when the same line-up of drivers (Beckman, Ron Capps, Hagan, and Johnson) had gone 10-in-a-row in 2017.