NHRA Reveals Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Schedule


GLENDORA, Calif. – The NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, where the future stars of the sport earn their racing stripes, returns to action for an 18th year next season to compete at premier racing facilities across the country.

The 2019 season kicks off at Orlando Speed World Dragway, in Orlando, Fla. on Feb. 1-2. The schedule also includes a new location, as the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series heads to Tucson Raceway in Tucson, Ariz. on March 1-3. The tour also returns to Atlanta Dragway on April 12-13.

During the year, the series will feature exciting doubleheader events at Texas Motorplex, Mission Raceway, Heartland Motorsports Park and Sonoma Raceway. The action-packed series will also feature two stops at Woodburn Dragstrip in Woodburn, Ore. and The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, where the 2019 season will finish on Nov 7-10.

The upcoming 2019 schedule includes 44 divisional events, with a minimum of six in each of the seven divisions. Additionally, there will also be 26 regional events, featuring the 260-mph Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car classes, during the 2019 campaign.

“The NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series offers some of the most intense competition in drag racing and we are excited to showcase this talented group of drivers at tracks across the country for another action-packed season,” said NHRA president Glen Cromwell. “The Lucas family has demonstrated incredible dedication to NHRA’s sportsman racers and we are thrilled to continue that partnership.”

“Lucas Oil is synonymous with the NHRA and we have supported the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series since 2001,” added Morgan Lucas, senior vice president of sales for Lucas Oil. “We have enjoyed a fantastic relationship and are thrilled to continue our partnership in 2019.”

Bonus programs available to competitors in the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series include the $100,000 JEGS Allstars. Individual divisions will also have additional bonus programs available to racers.

Graduates of the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series include Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence, 2017 Pro Stock champion Bo Butner, former Top Fuel champion Shawn Langdon, Courtney Force, two-time Pro Stock champion Erica Enders, 2017 Top Fuel champion Brittany Force, five-time Pro Stock champion Jeg Coughlin, former Funny Car champion Jack Beckman, Funny Car’s Jonnie Lindberg, three-time Pro Stock champion Jason Line, Funny Car’s Cruz Pedregon, Pro Stock’s Drew Skillman and Funny Car’s Bob Tasca.

To view the complete list of regional schedules, advance to the next page.