McClenathan To Be Honored At NHRA FallNationals

Cory McClenathan will be honored with the Texas Motorplex Legend award at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals.
Cory McClenathan will be honored with the Texas Motorplex Legend award at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals.

ENNIS, Texas – Three-time Texas Motorplex Top Fuel winner and 34-time Top Fuel NHRA national event winner Cory McClenathan will be honored at the upcoming 34th annual AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals Oct. 18-20 as the first recipient of the Texas Motorplex Legend award.

McClenathan, who recently announced he will race the final three NHRA Mello Yello Series national events of the 2019 season and then retire, last appeared at the FallNationals in 2018.

He has 18 starts, two No. 1 qualifiers, five finals, three wins and 32-15 record at the NHRA track located just south of Dallas. McClenathan will be racing a Top Fuel dragster owned by Dexter Tuttle and sponsored by Revchem Composites and Nordic Boats.

Most notably McClenathan was the first driver to exceed 320 mph when his McDonald’s sponsored Top Fuel dragster blazed down the all-concrete track at a speed of 321.77 mph in 1997. That run was voted the Top 5 all-time Motorplex Moment. Ironically, McClenathan is recognized in the No. 9 all-time Motorplex Moment which was Don Prudhomme’s last professional victory as a driver. McClenathan was in the opposite lane against Prudhomme during that race in 1994.

“Cory McClenathan is a big part of the record setting history of Texas Motorplex and the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals,” said Andy Carter, Texas Motorplex General Manager. “We are thrilled he is closing out his amazing career with another race in Ennis. We are honored to recognize him as the first Texas Motorplex Legend award recipient. We will have a special presentation for him during opening ceremonies and he will forever be recognized in the Texas Motorplex Champion’s Club.”

McClenathan is a three-time Texas Motorplex Top Fuel winner, second most in Motorplex history tied with Gary Scelzi and just behind Tony Schumacher the all-time leader with six Top Fuel Motorplex wins. In his career McClenathan recorded a total of 18 Top 10 finishes; was second four times and third four other times and he won 30 or more rounds in a season eight times.

“When the track called about this award I was blown away. The Texas Motorplex has always held a special place in my heart. I have to thank Dexter Tuttle for giving me this chance to race these last three races. I can remember that 321 mph pass like it was yesterday. We went on to win that race and it was an amazing weekend. Thank you to Billy Meyer, Andy Carter and all the fans across the years that came out to support me at the Texas Motorplex. This is just a really cool honor.”