Hough Breaks Through For IHRA Glory

Fuel Altered driver Kyle Hough won his first career Nitro Jam Saturday at Southwestern Int'l Raceway in Arizona. (IHRA Photo)
Fuel Altered driver Kyle Hough won his first career Nitro Jam Saturday at Southwestern Int’l Raceway in Arizona. (IHRA Photo)

TUCSON, Ariz. – Last year was a bit of an oddball season for IHRA rookie Kyle Hough.

Hough was good alright, visiting seven finals and winning the 2012 Nitro Jam Fuel Altered championship all in his first season behind the wheel. But, despite his championship producing season, Hough didn’t collect one victory. Not one.

That all changed Saturday night.

With consistency being key to Hough’s championship during his rookie campaign last season, Saturday Hough put it all on the line and let the numbers do the talking as the Las Vegas, Nevada native blasted to his first career Nitro Jam win behind the wheel of the famed “Nanook” machine at the Arizona Nitro Jam presented by CarSafe and Good Vibrations Motorsports at Southwestern Int’l Raceway.

Hough joined AMSOIL Prostalgia Nitro Funny Car champion Jason Rupert, also collecting his first Nitro Jam win, and sportsman winners Vern Bolton (Top Dragster), Howard Gerstel (Top), John Nacis (Mod), Grant Jones (Junior Master) and Samantha Barajas (Junior Beginner).

Hough put together two solid laps on Saturday, blasting past Ron August Jr. in the “Pure Hell” machine in round one and adding another winning pass against the fan-favorite “Arizona Thunder” driven by Mike Hilsabeck. Knowing he had been to this point seven times in 2012 only to come up short, Nanook steered the “Nanook” Fuel Altered right down broadway with a 6.829, 198.52 in the final to collect his first career win over Hilsabeck who ran a 7.081, 160.21. The pair had identical .176 reaction times.

In the Fuel Altered consolation round Ron Maroney in “Blind Faith” drove around August in the “Pure Hell” entry.

Previous articleHorton Overcomes New Egypt Cabin Fever
Next articleKody Swanson Rocks Madera Speedway
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.