Nine Drivers Set For WoO LMS Tour

Top 10
Nine drivers are set to run the full World of Outlaws Late Model Series schedule. (Chris Seelman Photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series officials unveiled the driver lineup for this year’s tour, which kicks of Feb. 17-18 at Georgia’s Screven Motorsports Complex.

The group is headlined by 2015 series champion Shane Clanton and includes Billy Moyer Jr., Rick Eckert, Brandon Sheppard, Chris Madden, Brandon Overton, Steve Casebolt, Tyler Erb and Devin Moran.

To say Clanton is a seasoned driver is an understatement. He earned his first series win in 2004 and has been a committed World of Outlaws full-time driver since 2005. He earned his first championship title at the completion of the 2015 season.

During his impressive 2015 season, Clanton saddled up and headed out with 10 wins, 34 top-five and 37 top-ten finishes of 43 total races. Clanton has placed second in the overall point standings three times, including the 2006, 2013 and 2016 seasons.

This past season, Clanton scored seven wins, 23 top-five and 32 top-10 finishes.

Moyer is a surefire competitor for the future of the sport. Born from a late model legend who passed down his book of knowledge, Moyer Jr. is now writing his own chapter: earning the 2016 Rookie of the Year title and backing it up with two wins, six top-five and 17 top-10 finishes.

When the series restarted in 2004, there were 12 full-time drivers and Rick Eckert was one of them. Eckert has been a frontrunner for some time, totaling 35 series wins, ranking fourth on the tour’s modern-era wins list and fifth on the all-time list. In 2016 Eckert finished third in the overall points standing where he is no stranger. Ten times throughout his career, Eckert has landed in the top five in the points race.

In the past Brandon Sheppard has made appearances on the World of Outlaws stage, but has never committed to the series as a full-time driver. Sheppard will be sporting No. 1 Mark Richards Rocket Chassis House Car, hoping to fill the shoes of 2016 champion Josh Richards.

Madden has appeared on the Outlaw stage countless of times with his first series win in 2006. His most recent series win was at the last race of the season, the 2016 Bad Boy Off Road World Finals at the Dirt Track at Charlotte. The 2017 season marks Maddens first committed excursion with a traveling series.

Overton, the 2015 WoO LMS Rookie of the Year, takes over Randy “Dream” Weaver’s No. 116 ride. During the offseason, Overton and his new team have entered three races where they have finished on the podium all three times racking up one win and two third-place finishes.

Casebolt was the runner-up for the rookie-of-the-year-title last year while finishing sixth in the points.

Erb returns to the series after one top-five finish and 10 top-10 results last season, while Moran, the son of Donnie Moran, will hit the WoO LMS tour for the first time, driving the No. 9 fielded by Ty Twarog Racing.