Moyer Concludes Winternationals A Winner


BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., capped the 41st UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment with a stirring victory in Saturday night’s 50-lap World of Outlaws Late Model Series A-Main at Volusia Speedway Park.

The 54-year-old dirt Late Model legend grabbed the lead in memorable fashion on lap 32, bursting past Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, Ga., and Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., with a power move down the inside of the backstretch. He then turned back a brief late-race challenge from O’Neal en route to collecting the race’s $10,000 top prize.

Moyer became the lone two-time winner during the six-race late model portion of the 2012 UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit. He also won Tuesday night’s 30-lap DIRTcar UMP-sanctioned feature.

“I made some adjustments on the hot rod today that I should’ve made a couple days ago,” Moyer said of his Clements-powered Victory Circle Chassis. “It was right back where it should’ve been.”

O’Neal settled for a runner-up finish – 2.850 seconds behind Moyer – after leading laps 3-31 driving Larry Moring’s MasterSbilt car. Clanton advanced one position to finish third in the Kennedy Motorsports Capital Race Car, while seventh-starter Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., placed fourth in a Rocket to remain the WoO LMS points leader and polesitter Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., who led laps 1-2, was fifth in the Barry Wright house car.

Dennis Erb, Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., finished seventh and was crowned the Late Model points champion of the 2012 UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit, earning him a unique gator-shaped trophy. He won the week’s first WoO LMS event on Thursday night.

Moyer, who started ninth, mastered a track surface that he said “couldn’t have been more racy.”

“Earlier in the night I thought it was going to be one of those married-to-the-top deals because it looked like there was a treacherous berm,” said Moyer. “It turned out that, when we put the harder tires on, we were able to run everywhere on it, wherever you felt the car was the best at. I think I run the top, the bottom, the middle – a little bit everywhere.”

It was Moyer’s strength running the inside groove that proved key to his division-leading ninth win at Volusia since 1998. When he approached battling frontrunners O’Neal and Clanton, he simply stuck low and drove by them.

“Them guys were racing hard up there,” said Moyer. “I could tell Shane just wanted to give (O’Neal) a slide job and get on by him, (but) I don’t think anyone could circle around the bottom like I could. I just stayed with what I was doing and it worked out for us.”

Moyer’s win was the 38th of his career on the WoO LMS, including 22 he registered in 1988-89 during the first incarnation of the national tour run under the auspices of late WoO Sprint Car Series founder Ted Johnson. He moved back into a tie for the alltime WoO LMS victory lead with Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., who finished a quiet 16th in Saturday night’s A-Main.

The finish:

Billy Moyer, Don O’Neal, Shane Clanton, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, Dennis Erb, Jr., Dale McDowell, Tim McCreadie, John Blankenship, Scott Bloomquist, Rick Eckert, Frankie Heckenast, Jr., Clint Smith, Bobby Pierce, Josh Richards, Brady Smith, Vic Coffey, Chub Frank, Tim Fuller, Brandon Sheppard, Bub McCool, Morgan Bagley, Donnie Moran, Jason Feger, Jimmy Mars, Dennis Franklin, Pat Doar, Dan Stone.

BREAKING NEWS: SPEED SPORT is back in print with a new monthly format!
Subscribe for just $24.95. Special offer for former subscribers.