Moran To Lead USA Nationals Field

Devin Moran (Dallas Breeze Photo)

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. — The World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series continued the Week of Wisconsin on Friday at Cedar Lake Speedway.

It was qualifying night featuring the unique Double Heat Races format. Passing points were accumulated based on positions gained in the two heat races each competitor competed in during the night.

The top eight drivers after the two sets of heat races would line up for the USA Nationals Dash to determine the first eight starting spots in the 100-lap feature on Saturday.

By virtue of their points accumulated, Jimmy Owens and Devin Moran started on the front row and it would be Owens leading the first lap until Moran motored around on lap two. Moran would slowly pull away from Owens and the rest of the field and go on to win the dash, earning the right to start on the pole in the 100-lap/$50,000 feature.

Owens finished second and will start on the outside of the front row while defending series champion, Brandon Sheppard, 2018 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour champion Brian Shirley, 2015 USA Nationals winner, Jonathan Davenport, Mike Marlar, Ricky Weiss and Shannon Babb finished off the field and will start in that order within the first four rows.

Also making the show without having to run in one of the two Last Chance Showdowns are: Chase Junghans, Kyle Bronson, David Breazeale, Tyler Erb, Chris Simpson, defending USA Nationals winner, Don O’Neal, Jimmy Mars and Nick Anvelink.

Winning heats under the unique double heats format where: Jason Rauen, current series points leader, Chris Madden, Babb, Kyle Bronson, Shirley, Dale McDowell, Owens, Sheppard, Mars and Erb.

Despite winning heat races, Rauen, Madden, Bronson and McDowell will all have to come through one of the two Last Chance Showdowns, which will be 15-Laps each and taking the top three out of each. McDowell and Tyler Bruening start on the front row of the first LCS while 2014 series rookie of the year, Frank Heckenast Jr., and Jason Feger start on the front row of the second LCS.