McCreadie Masters Autodrome Granby

Tim McCreadie in victory lane Friday night at Autodrome Granby in Quebec. (Kevin Kovac/WoO LMS photo)
Tim McCreadie in victory lane Friday night at Autodrome Granby in Quebec. (Kevin Kovac/WoO LMS photo)

GRANBY, Quebec — Tim McCreadie gained a measure of redemption Friday night, outrunning World of Outlaws Late Model Series point leader Darrell Lanigan to win the national tour’s first 50-lap A-Main at Autodrome Granby.

After absorbing a pair of late-race defeats to the red-hot Lanigan over the last month, McCreadie seized control of Friday’s headliner on lap 23 when he passed Clint Smith and never looked back. He was chased for the final 26 laps by Lanigan but never let the World of Outlaws circuit’s current points leader get close enough to make a serious bid at victory.

McCreadie, 38, crossed the finish line 1.690 seconds ahead of Lanigan, who entered the event having won four of the last six WoO LMS events, including a triumph on June 17 at Eriez Speedway in Hammett, Pa., that saw him snatch the lead from McCreadie with just six laps remaining.

Tim Fuller finished a distant third in his Rocket car, but it was a season-best run for the struggling racer who started from the outside pole at a half-mile oval where he’s enjoyed success in DIRTcar Big-Block and 358-Modified action. DIRTcar 358-Modified regular Dale Planck recorded a career-high WoO LMS finish of fourth in the RezX Racing Rocket and Smith settled for fifth in his Rocket after leading the race’s first 22 laps from the pole position.

McCreadie’s $10,650 triumph was his third of 2012 on the WoO LMS. All of the checkered flags have come over the past nine races – a sizzling stretch that has seen the former DIRTcar Big-Block Modified star tally seven top-five finishes and no outings worse than seventh behind the wheel of his Sweeteners Plus Warrior mount.

“This car’s been clicking,” said McCreadie, who made his first-ever visit to Victory Lane at Granby, a longtime DIRTcar-sanctioned facility. “I’ve been comfortable. I haven’t been this comfortable in maybe five years in a Late Model.”

Lanigan, 42, did cause McCreadie to sit a bit uneasily in his car midway through the race. McCreadie, who started outside of Lanigan’s Rocket mount in the third row of the 24-car field, was running second on a lap-17 restart when Lanigan made a strong attempt to grab the spot using the outside of the track’s largely flat turns.

“On that restart he showed the outside twice and I thought, ‘Oh my God, here we go again,’” said McCreadie, who scored his 20th career win on the WoO LMS. “We got lucky to get in front of him. I just nosed him a little bit of (turn) four (to stay ahead), and then I realized it was better up there (in the outside groove).

“Darrell found (the top) first. That’s why he’s been the best car on the tour all year long – he’s not scared to move around. We’re just fortunate we were able to get up there in front of him and then use the top to get past Clint (for the lead). Clint’s car was really good, but the bottom just got slower getting into the middle and we ran the outside by him.”

The finish:

Tim McCreadie, Darrell Lanigan, Tim Fuller, Dale Planck, Clint Smith, Dan Stone, Shane Clanton, Ron Davies, John Mason, Rick Eckert, Chub Frank, Kent Robinson, Bub McCool, Pat Doar, John Lobb, Greg Belyea, Jack Sullivan, Dan Davies, Philip Potts, Charlie Sandercock, Duane Treadwell, Ross Robinson, Caley Weese, Kyle Sopaz.


SPEED SPORT Magazine “digital edition” now available for iPad and iPhone!

Get one year for just $12.99. Single issues (including back issues) are available for $2.99.
Click here to visit the iTunes App Store for details!