Marlar Gets First WoO LMS Win


TAZEWELL, Tenn. — Mike Marlar took advantage of Tim McCreadie’s misfortune and captured Saturday night’s Scion of Knoxville 50 World of Outlaws Late Model Series A-Main at Tazewell Speedway.

This was Marlar’s first-career World of Outlaws Late Model Series victory, and he became the series’ seventh different winner this season in seven races after holding off Shane Clanton and Rick Eckert to the checkered flag as championship leader Darrell Lanigan finished fourth with last year’s top rookie Eric Wells rounding out the top five.

“We actually scaled back on racing this year and I think we’re going to have one of our best year’s yet,” said Marlar. “My steering is bent, my arms are tired, but with all the help from my family and friends, Ronnie Delk (car owner), all of the work they put in, we’re going stay in there and drive it all we can.”

McCreadie and Marlar brought the field of 24 to life for the start of the 50-lapper with McCreadie jumping to the high side and the early lead. Marlar tucked under T-Mac for second with Lanigan moving from his eighth spot to the fifth position by the second circuit. By the sixth lap, sixth-starting Clanton and his Capital Race Cars entry passed Eckert for the third spot.

“We’re good, just need a little lady luck to start up front and maybe we can win one,” said runner-up Clanton.

Eckert held on to a third place-finish and said tire choice was the key.

“He was a little bit softer on the left rear tire, that one restart he took the bottom off two and snuck by me and I just couldn’t get him back cleared,” said Eckert.

Eckert turned the fastest overall lap of Ohlins Shocks Time Trials, circling the blistering-fast third- mile oval in 11.390 seconds.

Darrell Lanigan continues to lead the overall World of Outlaws Late Model Series championship with six top-five’s and seven top-10s through seven feature events.

The finish:

Mike Marlar, Shane Clanton, Rick Eckert, Darrell Lanigan, Eric Wells, Chase Junghans, Morgan Bagley, Clint Smith, Rick “Boom” Briggs, Brandon Sheppard, Chub Frank, Josh Putnam, Bryan Hendrix, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Mark Gant, Frank Heckenast Jr., Jack Sullivan, Billy Ogle Jr., Tim McCreadie, Terry Wolfenbarger, Kyle Bronson, Wade Howerton, Steve Smith.