CONCORD, N.C. – Scott Bloomquist was in his own zip code Saturday night in the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series season finale during the World of Outlaws World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

Bloomquist started the 50-lap feature from the fourth position but rocketed by polesitter Earl Pearson Jr. on the opening lap and never looked back to easily claim his first series victory of the season.

Mike Marlar finished a comfortable sixth to clinch his first World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series championship.

The driver of the No. 0 would not be denied Saturday evening. After rocketing around Pearson on the outside of turn two on the opening circuit, Bloomquist was quick to build a gap on the field until the first caution flag of the race waved on lap eight for Tyler Erb stopped between turns one and two.

Bloomquist held the lead on the ensuing restart, but the field only got one lap completed before Jackie Boggs slowed in turn two for another caution period.

The racing resumed second-place Kent Robinson gave Bloomquist a run for his money, racing alongside him for a lap before Bloomquist pulled clear on the 10th lap. Bloomquist pulled away from the pack and led the field by a few seconds before the third caution flag waved on lap 21 for Pat Doar slow on the backstretch.

An attempt to return to racing was quickly halted when Donny Schatz, who had just won the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series feature less than 30 minutes prior, spun on the frontstretch.

The second attempt was successful and Bloomquist held off a brief challenge from Marlar to retain the lead. Bloomquist again built a healthy lead at the front and with no caution flag to bring the field back to him, the dirt late model Hall of Famer cruised to a comfortable victory of more than seven seconds.

“We were pretty good all weekend,” Bloomquist said after his second series win of the year. “I left it too loose for the first feature. We were pretty dominant in our heat races and in qualifying we were real good. I knew after that race today (in the afternoon) pretty much what we needed to do.

“I was pretty confident we were going to be on the money here tonight.”

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion Jonathan Davenport made a late charge to finish second, with Brandon Sheppard, Chase Junghans and Tim McCreadie completing the top-five.

Marlar entered Saturday’s finale with a 34-point edge over Sheppard, who won Saturday afternoon’s feature to close the gap on Marlar slightly. Marlar needed only to finish 16th to clinch the championship if Sheppard won, so his sixth-place finish Saturday night was more than enough to grant him his first series title.

“In tonight’s race I really had a winning car,” Marlar said. “I got to racing Scott a little bit and I got to racing with K-Rob (Kent Robinson) in the No. 7 car I was really grinding on my tires a little bit too much and I said, ‘You’re being really stupid here. Just back off and let these guys have it and secure just a finish.’ That’s all I needed. If I had messed around and got a flat there late I would have gave it away.”

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport, Brandon Sheppard, Chase Junghans, Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Chris Ferguson, Kent Robinson, Earl Pearson Jr., Devin Moran, Chris Madden, Casey Roberts, David Breazeale, Shane Clanton, Dennis Erb Jr., Donny Schatz, Jimmy Owens, Rick Eckert, Steven Roberts, Justin Williams, Benji Hicks, Brandon Overton, Dale McDowell, Pat Doar, Don O’Neal, Jackie Boggs, Tyler Erb.