Tennessee Tripleheader Next For WoO LMS


A high-banked, quarter-mile oval just over an hour’s drive south of Nashville, Duck River will host the WoO LMS for the first time on Sunday. Smoky Mountain’s World of Outlaws show will be its first since 2004, while the famed banks of Tazewell will see WoO LMS competition for the fourth season in a row.

A total of 16 WoO LMS events at eight different tracks have been run in Tennessee since 2004, when the tour was restarted under the World Racing Group banner after a 15-year layoff. Eight of those races came during the 2004 and ’05 seasons, including six in ’04.

Eleven drivers have won a WoO LMS A-Main in Tennessee. Five drivers own a pair of victories (Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Shane Clanton, Tim McCreadie and Chris Madden) and six have single triumphs (Rick Eckert, Brian Birkhofer, Billy Moyer, Jimmy Owens and Bub McCool). Bloomquist and Owens are the only Tennessee drivers to win a World of Outlaws event in their home state.

Tazewell’’s past WoO LMS winners include Clanton, Madden and McCool, who scored his first-ever World of Outlaws triumph in last year’s event. The lone WoO LMS stop at Smoky Mountain in ’’04 was captured by Eckert.