Strickler Stars In UMP Modified Run


BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Kyle Strickler held off Ty Dillon to capture the DIRTcar UMP modified portion of Wednesday night’s DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park.

Strickler powered through a clean but wild UMP Modified main event, riding the cushion as Ty Dillon applied the pressure. A late caution bunched everybody together but Strickler had a strong restart to keep Ty Dillon behind him. Austin Dillon, who won on Tuesday night, advanced four spots to finish third ahead of hard charger Nick Hoffman, who improved 10 spots.

“That cushion was getting a little rough up there, lapped traffic, that was getting a little crazy,” Strickler said. “I wasn’t sure how close the Dillon boys were there. Those guys, they’ve had rocket ships last night and tonight. I knew they would be coming and if I could pick and choose my way through lapped traffic that was going to help me. Starting up front definitely was very important. If I could get to that cushion I was going to have a good restart because I got some of that moisture off of four here and got to the top.”

The finish:

Kyle Strickler, Ty Dillon Austin Dillon, Nick Hoffman, Jackie Boggs, Billy Workman Jr., Jake Hawkins, Kenny Wallace, Justin Allgaier, Ken Schrader, Max McLaughlin, Garret Stewart, Matt Crafton, Devin Gilpin, Ray Bollinger, Mike Smith, Jason Bealieu, Todd Neiheiser, Cory Daugherty, Joel Ortberg, Jeff Mathews, Will Krup, Dale Mathison, Tyler Nicely.