Strickler Repeats As Harris Clash Winner


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Kyle Strickler needed a last-lap pass at Knoxville Raceway to win the 2012 Harris Clash.

No such late-race heroics were necessary Thursday night as the North Carolina driver dominated the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature from start to finish and picked up a $2,000 check.

The first driver to win back-to-back Clash main events, Strickler started outside Jesse Sobbing on the front row for the 25-lapper. “B” qualifier and hard charger Richie Gustin advanced 16 positions to second but couldn’t reel in Strickler, who had a comfortable advantage when the checkers flew.

Sobbing, Randy Havlik and Todd Shute rounded out the top five. The only caution came out on lap 19 and Strickler was quick to pull away again.

Mike Van Genderen also moved up 16 spots to finish sixth; Eric Dailey took the former race winner’s provisional, started last in the field of 25 and ended in 11th.

Strickler was already qualified for the 2013 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Doug Smith was the $750 Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature winner, leading all 20 circuits in that contest.