Strickler, Palmer Claim IMCA Qualifiers


BOONE, Iowa – Kyle Strickler beat his competition on the track and the Modified qualifying feature beat the weather Thursday night at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals.

Strickler topped the abbreviated feature, shortened because of time and threatening weather conditions. His victory puts the North Carolina driver at the front of the inside row for Saturday’s main event at Boone Speedway.

Thursday’s top eight finishers represented five different states.

Lining up behind Strickler in the big show will be Jay Noteboom, Jeff Taylor, Dylan Smith, Ricky Alvarado, Cale Sponsler, Zane DeVilbiss and Michael Reichart.

Noteboom has now made the main event eight times, Sponsler four times and Taylor twice.

First-time qualifiers are Strickler, Smith, Alvarado, DeVilbiss and Reichart.

Drivers from 13 different states won Modified heat races on Thursday night to advance to the qualifier.

In the Stock Car qualifier, Chad Palmer was promoted to first after Sean Johnson failed post-race tech inspection at Boone Speedway. The defending Super Nationals champion was disqualified for an illegal carburetor part.

Palmer will start at the front of the middle row Saturday evening. The rest of Thursday’s top eight lining up behind him will include Jared Dirks, Shawn Wagner, Dustin Larson, Brandon Czarapata, Lynn Panos, Justin Temeyer and Shay Curtin.

A single caution slowed the 25-lap qualifier, which came down to a two-car race with a lapped car in the mix on the final circuit.

Palmer had run a strong second the last 10 times around the track.

The lack of yellows gave plenty of opportunity for passing: Larson moved up 10 positions, Panos 12, Temeyer 13, Curtin 14 and Czarapata 15.

Czarapata and Temeyer will both make their eighth career main event starts. Palmer, Dirks, Lar­son, Panos and Curtin are all in for the second time while Wagner makes his first Saturday night appearance.