Stovall Strikes As MLRA Hits Deer Creek

Jesse Stovall in victory lane at Deer Creek Speedway.
Jesse Stovall in victory lane at Deer Creek Speedway.
Jesse Stovall in victory lane at Deer Creek Speedway.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. — Wednesday’s Lucas Oil MLRA stop at Deer Creek Speedway did not disappoint. Jimmy Mars started upfront and swapped the lead with Jesse Stovall a couple of times before settling in behind the current series point leader.

When Stovall assumed the lead for good, he rolled on to score his fourth MLRA victory of the year.

“It sure is a long ways up here, but it’s a heck of a race track,” stated Stovall. “I’d come back again. I was just trying to hit my marks every time. I really appreciate them having us up here on a weeknight like this. This place is awesome there ain’t a hole in it. The older I get the more I like to run on these places. I can do both, but this right here is what it’s all about.”

Ryan Gustin pressured Stovall and and mounted a big charge late, but it was not enough. Earlier on, he dueled with Jimmy Mars for several laps before moving into second.

“I think we had a really good car, but Jesse, he ain’t no rookie,” Gustin said. “He ain’t going to make mistakes. He knows you’re there. He’s going to do what he has to do.”

For Mars, Wednesday was a race closer to his shop than many he runs in a given season. Along with his primary car, Mars unloaded his backup for Rodney Sanders to race. The evening ended with him securing the final spot on the podium.

“It went alright, just weren’t quite as fast as them guys, so congratulations to Jesse and Ryan,” Mars said. “It was fun, we were just off a little tonight. I was just trying to be patient on that bottom. I knew that middle groove was better. I just couldn’t ever get up there.”

The finish:

Jesse Stovall, Ryan Gustin, Jimmy Mars, Jorday Yaggy, Chris Simpson, Rodney Sanders, Tad Pospisil, Tommy Weder Jr., Jon Mitchell, Jason Utter, Lance Mathees, Brent Larson, Austin Siebert, Jason Rauen, Terry Phillips, Dave Eckrich, Brantlee Gotschall, J.C. Wyman, Tony Jackson Jr., Daulton Maassen, Nick Herrick.