Ryan Romps To Dubuque LM Score

Matt Ryan in victory lane.
Matt Ryan in victory lane.
Matt Ryan in victory lane.

DUBUQUE, Iowa — If he’d had a rearview mirror, Matt Ryan would have been able to watch the race that played out behind him in Tuesday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series main event at Dubuque Speedway.

Ryan led all but the first of 50 laps in winning the IMCA Late Model tour feature and $2,400. The Deery checkers were his career second.

He left the top just long enough to pass pole starter Dan Shelliam. Ryan found himself pursued by a host of challengers that at one point was running five wide close behind, but stayed in front.

“Normally when I go to Dubuque I’m a guardrail guy but the car was good on the top side in my heat race,” said Ryan, who’d won the Slocum Memorial Deery in April of 2011. “I thought if I’m starting second that I’d stay there. My goal was to stay on the cushion but keep it out of the fence.

“Every restart we’d go into (turn) one and there’d be somebody on the bottom,” he added. “I was pretty happy to be able to stay out in front of them.”

Point leader Tyler Bruening ended a couple car lengths off the pace in second to add a little more breathing room in his battle for the series championship with fifth-finishing Jeff Aikey. Luke Goedert was third and Scott Fitzpatrick ran fourth.

While Bruening ran second much of the night, he gave way near midway to last-starting Joel Callahan.

Callahan stayed close before breaking and bringing out one of the six yellows that punctuated the main event. Joe Zrostlik worked his way up from outside row 10 to finish sixth.

Ryan, whose father Terry won his first late model feature at Dubuque in 1991, got the best of Terry Neal in an epic feature there a couple years ago.

“I’ve been in position to win races this season but things didn’t work out. It’s been kind of a long year for us,” he said. “I was excited to start up front with this Gheer’d Up car.”

Mark Schulte was the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified winner at Dubuque.

The finish:

Matt Ryan, Tyler Bruening, Luke Goedert, Scott Fitzpatrick, Jeff Aikey, Joe Zrostlik, Dan Shelliam, Ray Guss Jr., Darrel DeFrance, Chad Holladay, Chuck Hanna, Ryan Dolan, Lee Kinsella, Bobby Hansen, Curt Schroeder, Luke Merfeld, Joel Callahan, Eric Pollard, Andy Nezworski, Cayden Carter, Tyler Droste, Justin Kay.