Richards Honored At WoO LMS Banquet


Richards directed special credit for his success to his team members, including his father; Matt Barnes, who was named the 2013 WoO LMS Crew Chief of the Year in a vote of his fellow tour mechanics; and Cody Duncan.

“If it weren’t for my crew I wouldn’t be here,” said Richards, whose points-fund check pushed his 2013 WoO LMS earnings to $342,970. “My name’s on the check and the trophy, but I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for you guys. Thank you being a championship group and helping get me up there.”

Richards also thanked “the three most important women” in his life (his mother Tina, youngster sister Morgan and fiancĂ©e Andrea Cleveland) and a long list of sponsors.

“This is my 10th season driving a race car and to be the (WoO LMS) champion three times is pretty cool,” said Richards. “I just love racing and feel so lucky to have this opportunity.”

Lanigan, 43, settled for second place in the 2013 points standings, worth $60,000 in points-fund money that left his total earnings at $300,110. He recorded a series-leading 12 wins along with 28 top-five and 34 top-10 finishes.

Shane Clanton, who matched his career-high with four wins in 2013, finished third in the standings for the second consecutive year, falling just two points short of Lanigan in the final rundown. He pocketed $40,000 in points-fund cash to end the campaign with $191,550 in earnings.

Rick Eckert collected $35,000 for finishing fourth in the standings while Tim McCreadie pocketed $30,000 for a fifth-place finish. Eckert placed in the top five for the fifth consecutive year while McCreadie ran his top-five streak to four seasons in a row.

Rounding out the top 10 in the 2013 points standings was Eric Wells ($25,000); Tim Fuller ($24,000); Morgan Bagley ($23,000); Chub Frank ($22,000); and Bub McCool ($21,000).

Wells, 24, picked up an additional $10,000 for winning the 2013 WoO LMS Rookie of the Year Award. He captured one A-Main and registered eighth top-five finishes to take the rookie crown over Bagley, who earned a $5,000 bonus for his runner-up finish in the first-year driver battle.

Rocket Chassis continued its ownership of the WoO LMS Chassis Builder of the Year Award, receiving the honor for the 10th straight year. The Shinnston, W.Va.-based company operated by Mark Richards and Steve Baker is the only winner of the award since the tour relaunched in 2004.